Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 27, 2010, 02:20 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2009
4,831 Posts
Yes, you can use channel 5 on the Optic 6 with like effect (pod on the "gear" channel).
angelfood is offline Find More Posts by angelfood
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 27, 2010, 02:47 PM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jan 2005
5,919 Posts
3M Packing Tape on the Wings

Hi again guys

Here are a few pictures of my wings now they've been taped with a combination 3M Extreme packing tape on the leading edges and 3M High Quality packing tape on the trailing edges and so on:





The tape added 10g to each wing. The DG1000 now weighs 886g with its 1600mah (124g) battery.
Gerry__ is offline Find More Posts by Gerry__
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Gerry__; Oct 27, 2010 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2010, 03:19 PM
Segelfliegen
studioRS's Avatar
Northern Vermont
Joined Jul 2010
1,304 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelfood View Post
Yes, you can use channel 5 on the Optic 6 with like effect (pod on the "gear" channel).
EDIT... Got it, the mixer provided with the DG-1000 will provide for the two position SW 2 gear switch just as the on 6EX in the manual in normal or auto mode.
studioRS is online now Find More Posts by studioRS
Last edited by studioRS; Oct 27, 2010 at 03:36 PM. Reason: realized mixer function
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2010, 03:37 PM
Segelfliegen
studioRS's Avatar
Northern Vermont
Joined Jul 2010
1,304 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry__ View Post
Hi again guys

Here are a few pictures of my wings now they've been taped with a combination 3M Extreme packing tape on the leading edges and 3M High Quality packing tape on the trailing edges and so on:


The tape added 10g to each wing. The DG1000 now weighs 886g with its 1600mah (124g) battery.
Looks nice Gerry! Some beefy tape there, should notice a stiffer wing.
studioRS is online now Find More Posts by studioRS
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2010, 03:44 PM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jan 2005
5,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by studioRS View Post
Looks nice Gerry! Some beefy tape there, should notice a stiffer wing.
Yep, it's a night and day difference and, as I took 20g of the 30g stock ballast out of the nose while adding 20g of tape, I feel it's a more than fair swap.
Gerry__ is offline Find More Posts by Gerry__
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Foamie Resurrection
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2010, 04:19 PM
Segelfliegen
studioRS's Avatar
Northern Vermont
Joined Jul 2010
1,304 Posts
I can see why the Aurora 9 has it's advantages with the 3-position gear SW (c) switch and all the other computer functions. Using the SW C 3-position switch you wouldn't need the mixer at all.

After reviewing all of the manuals today, the Optic 6 with 2 Rx's, sailplane menu, large LCD window, two sliders and ease of programming looks to be the ticket for me.
studioRS is online now Find More Posts by studioRS
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2010, 07:48 PM
Segelfliegen
studioRS's Avatar
Northern Vermont
Joined Jul 2010
1,304 Posts
Another quick question, can I use the Hitec Optic 6 2.4 to control my Radian AR500 Rx?
studioRS is online now Find More Posts by studioRS
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2010, 08:02 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2009
4,831 Posts
NO, Spektrum and Hitec are not compatible!

But, you can get a used Spektrum module for the 6: I HAVE ONE.

That will allow you to use the AR 500 or any other DSM2 receiver.
angelfood is offline Find More Posts by angelfood
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 28, 2010, 01:13 AM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jan 2005
5,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelfood View Post
NO, Spektrum and Hitec are not compatible!

But, you can get a used Spektrum module for the 6: I HAVE ONE.

That will allow you to use the AR 500 or any other DSM2 receiver.
So, for someone starting from scratch with 2.4 and on a budget, why not use the Frsky system that is just as good but costs a lot less? The Frsky receivers are half the price of the Spektrum ones. By the time you have ten Rx's that is a big saving.
Gerry__ is offline Find More Posts by Gerry__
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Gerry__; Oct 28, 2010 at 01:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 03:49 AM
Me a long time ago
Flypoppa's Avatar
London N.E. UK
Joined Jan 2007
6,071 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry__ View Post
Hi again guys

Here are a few pictures of my wings now they've been taped with a combination 3M Extreme packing tape on the leading edges and 3M High Quality packing tape on the trailing edges and so on:

The tape added 10g to each wing. The DG1000 now weighs 886g with its 1600mah (124g) battery.
So as you have said in past threads that the DG is such a wonderful model. How come that you needed to add all that tape to 'beef' it up and hold the foam together.
Is the RMS still working?
Flypoppa is online now Find More Posts by Flypoppa
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 04:41 AM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jan 2005
5,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flypopa View Post
So as you have said in past threads that the DG is such a wonderful model. How come that you needed to add all that tape to 'beef' it up and hold the foam together.
Is the RMS still working?
I didn't say it was wonderful. But anyway, I taped the wings at the massive expense of 3 quid so hopefully it will handle more wind. RMS is still working. Yes it's a shame the motor mount is brittle and that some of peoples esc's have failed. The thing I'm most worried about is the RMS servo. So, the Dg isn't wonderful, it is what it is and I like it.
Gerry__ is offline Find More Posts by Gerry__
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Gerry__; Oct 28, 2010 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 07:18 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2009
4,831 Posts
Found a crack in my pod support, yesterday, and "repaired" it with fiberglass cloth and epoxy.
angelfood is offline Find More Posts by angelfood
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 28, 2010, 12:35 PM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jan 2005
5,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelfood View Post
Found a crack in my pod support, yesterday, and "repaired" it with fiberglass cloth and epoxy.
Could motor vibration have caused the crack?
Gerry__ is offline Find More Posts by Gerry__
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Foamie Resurrection
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 12:43 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2009
4,831 Posts
Nah, I'm sure it was when I nosed it in, trying to take off with full power: there is no substitute for a bad pilot!
angelfood is offline Find More Posts by angelfood
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 28, 2010, 07:02 PM
Segelfliegen
studioRS's Avatar
Northern Vermont
Joined Jul 2010
1,304 Posts
I wonder if you installed a wheel like the thread originator HondaJet has on his, would it make take-offs any easier? I've watched several youtube videos in the snow with the DG-1000 take off like it was nothing. We have a lovely golf course groomed grass landing strip at our field and this mod would be brilliant.
studioRS is online now Find More Posts by studioRS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hobbycity's New Cessna 182 RTF 5Ch with Lighting & Flaps EPO anthodenn Parkflyers 1 Oct 22, 2008 02:09 PM
For Sale GWS 350c-b with props and ST models 350 with props wmrcer Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 10 Dec 01, 2005 11:57 AM
FS: Todds Models Tiny RTF Al P Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Dec 11, 2002 12:38 PM
FS: NEW GWS ZERO RTF outfit with JR Computer Radio Etonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Nov 03, 2002 09:15 AM
Wanted! RTF HLG with bagged wing jimmy6819 Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 0 Oct 09, 2002 02:45 PM