HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 13, 2012, 10:17 AM
Registered User
USA, FL, Doral
Joined Jul 2006
1,297 Posts
Thanks for the replies!
I'm going to build it stock 4s, but since I want to install the VT unit in the future, think Im going to get some metal gear servos...just in case.
yucafrita is offline Find More Posts by yucafrita
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 22, 2012, 04:40 PM
Certified Prop Nut
jimbogreek's Avatar
Charleston, SC
Joined Mar 2010
18 Posts
replacing the fan blade

message deleted by author
jimbogreek is offline Find More Posts by jimbogreek
Last edited by jimbogreek; Feb 27, 2012 at 06:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Massachusetts
Joined Jan 2002
27 Posts
4s2650 ok ?

Hi Guys, Just starting my build. I happen to already have two (2) 4S 2650's ..... are they a good option ..... or is a smaller battery a better option ? Thanks. Bob
BalsaBob is offline Find More Posts by BalsaBob
Last edited by BalsaBob; Feb 23, 2012 at 11:43 AM. Reason: left out a word
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 12:39 PM
Registered User
Canada's East Coast, "An Ocean Playground"
Joined Apr 2002
4,170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BalsaBob View Post
Hi Guys, Just starting my build. I happen to already have two (2) 4S 2650's ..... are they a good option ..... or is a smaller battery a better option ? Thanks. Bob

..that's the size I run in my Squall. I'm using the setup from the Habu...Eflite BL15 Delta fan and motor. Works well, just watch the flight time and be ready to land after four minutes. 4S 3000's will allow another minute.

Bill
retiredVTT is offline Find More Posts by retiredVTT
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 01:08 PM
chuck
santa barbara, CA
Joined May 2009
3,903 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BalsaBob View Post
Hi Guys, Just starting my build. I happen to already have two (2) 4S 2650's ..... are they a good option ..... or is a smaller battery a better option ? Thanks. Bob
i like smaller w/ the stock set up but if u already have them, they will work.
chas650r is online now Find More Posts by chas650r
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 01:09 PM
Registered User
Massachusetts
Joined Jan 2002
27 Posts
Squall VT

I will be utilizing the VT in my Squall. Is flying a plane like this where the VT is engaged/enabled at all times much different thana setup where the VT nozzle can be turned on/off by a switch ..... as needed/wanted ? Thanks. Bob
BalsaBob is offline Find More Posts by BalsaBob
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 07:48 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Montgomery
Joined Aug 2006
1,209 Posts
wow!?

Over 300 pages here so could someone please let me know what the speed is of this model using stock setup? Thanks, donnie
menksters is online now Find More Posts by menksters
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 11:13 PM
willfly4$
cleatis's Avatar
United States, MS, Bay St Louis
Joined Apr 2005
250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by menksters View Post
Over 300 pages here so could someone please let me know what the speed is of this model using stock setup? Thanks, donnie
Really slow.

Lol, just kidding, I didn't Doppler mine stock but then again I did have a 3300 4 cell in it and it was really struggling to fly with the stock power system.
cleatis is offline Find More Posts by cleatis
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 04:59 AM
Aka: Tom Jenkins
ApexAero's Avatar
Palm Beach County, Fl.
Joined Aug 2008
4,378 Posts
Here's some inspiration!
1_30.wmv (0 min 4 sec)
ApexAero is offline Find More Posts by ApexAero
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 09:02 PM
Registered User
United States, OH, Cuyahoga Falls
Joined Apr 2006
224 Posts
hello everybody,

I am putting my squall together, stock 4 cells. Did you change the tape hinge on the rudder and ailerons? Did you use CA hinges instead?

thanks,

Le fou
le fou is offline Find More Posts by le fou
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 11:21 PM
Registered User
Canada's East Coast, "An Ocean Playground"
Joined Apr 2002
4,170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by le fou View Post
hello everybody,

I am putting my squall together, stock 4 cells. Did you change the tape hinge on the rudder and ailerons? Did you use CA hinges instead?

thanks,

Le fou
...Yes on the ailerons...and will do the rudder before flying this year, as it's showing signs of becoming loose with just the tape.
I still use tape OVER the installed ca hinges, (I believe I epoxied them in), to close any gap.

Bill
retiredVTT is offline Find More Posts by retiredVTT
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2012, 10:12 PM
Registered User
USA, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2010
20 Posts
I've been reading thru this massive thread and it seems the nose tends to break off on landing. Where does it snap? Would cutting it off and making it magnetically attached, like on a Stryker q, be beneficial?
NDS777 is offline Find More Posts by NDS777
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2012, 10:21 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDS777 View Post
I've been reading thru this massive thread and it seems the nose tends to break off on landing. Where does it snap? Would cutting it off and making it magnetically attached, like on a Stryker q, be beneficial?
No, just reinforce with some CF tubes.
Prof100 is online now Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 10, 2012, 07:32 AM
Life is simple Eat, Sleep, Fly
Timewarp's Avatar
Germany, RP, Kaiserslautern
Joined Oct 2011
123 Posts
Squall Rocking in flight.

Hi.

I have my throws set like the book recommends for sport flight, using a 20% EXPO and I have the plane balanced at the recommended CG and I have the vectored thrust unit installed, now for the life of me I can not figure out why the plane likes to rock side to side while in flight. All control surfaces are aligned ect. does anyone have any tips or recommendations?
Timewarp is offline Find More Posts by Timewarp
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 12:55 PM
chuck
santa barbara, CA
Joined May 2009
3,903 Posts
does it do this in dead calm conditions? 20% is not much expo for something as roll sensitive as this . we use 40-60 % depending on travel . of coarse if it does this w/ no control input in dead calm , expo has nothing to do w/ it. possible lose linkages?

chuck.
chas650r is online now Find More Posts by chas650r
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Popular EDF Jets - Phase 3 Fantom - HobbyLobby - Firebird EZ-400 Foamy EDFs 127 Aug 02, 2012 07:47 AM
Sold EDF Unit from Phase 3 F16 $10 Shipped typhoonmaster Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 1 Mar 15, 2009 12:27 PM
Discussion EDF vibration, Phase 3 EF-16 Friedclutch Foamy EDFs 5 Jul 16, 2008 09:23 PM
Discussion New EDF from BP hobbies Lance Nordby Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 3 Nov 11, 2006 06:38 PM
Alert New EDF From Great Planes netmechanic Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 5 Feb 19, 2006 03:23 PM