HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 16, 2009, 10:35 PM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,149 Posts
Discussion
Quaduino-Part2 (Arduino QuadCopters)

This is a continuation of the Quaduino thread. (This thread is dedicated to quad copters that use an Arduino micro controller and it's IDE.)
-----------------------Quaduinos- Arduino Hardware and Software--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1) AeroQuad by Mikro (*Download contains complete code. This is the most documented and supported quaduino.)
Highlights-
1)RX channel order independent using Pcint.
2)Configurator for easy PID adjustments and other features.
3)Optional shield available, and highly recommended.
4)Video

2) ArduCopter by Mikro and DIY-Drones

3)Quaduino-ng by Paulrene (*FightCongrolMegaV1 is the latest version. Old version here. Generously offered in as "as is" package.)
Highlights-
1)FlightcontrolMegaV1 uses Pcint to read a single pulse train in. Works with any TX. Pcint may not be as stable as ServoDecode method.
2)Old version uses RX channel order dependent code that takes in a single PPM pulse train from a hacked receiver. Doesn't work with any receiver but its more stable than Pcint.
3)Uses 12c for sensor data.

4)Caspiquad by dcaspi (*Working version. Well documented. Gererously offered in an as is package, but well documented.)
Highlights-
1)Stabilization is based on roll/pitch estimation using accelerometer and gyro inputs.
2)Features efficient C++ code implimentations.

-----------------------Similar projects- Arduino Hardware or Software--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Similar Projects
-----------------------Quaduino Videos--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AeroQuad by Mikro
AeroQuad Flipping in the Park (4 min 50 sec)


AeroQuad v1.7 by infintryoif
Towel Bar Aeroquad (2 min 44 sec)


AeroQuad v1.6 X config testing by enigmasoar
Aeroquad X Outside

AeroQuad v1.6b1 code and v1.6.1 shield stability testing by feliksayk
Quadcopter 6 - Maiden flight (MAR052010) (5 min 7 sec)


AeroQuad pre v1.6 code. By karol adam
AeroQuad (2 min 9 sec)


AeroQuad v1.6- 544 grams AUW by RCvertt
NoHands.AVI (0 min 57 sec)


----------------------------------------------------------------

Additional First Post Info
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by RCvertt; Oct 20, 2010 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 17, 2009, 12:06 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
102 Posts
Ok, old thread is all closed down. Hope this one goes just as long!
kaldak is offline Find More Posts by kaldak
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 03:15 AM
Quad Crash Test Pilot
Mikro's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaldak
Ok, old thread is all closed down. Hope this one goes just as long!
BTW Kaldak, thanks for starting the first one... it gave us a place where a bunch of us had similar ideas and really start hashing it out!
Mikro is offline Find More Posts by Mikro
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 05:48 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikro
To slow down the code, just put a delay() statement inside the main loop. Maybe try delay(10); first?
where exactly do you put the code?
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 05:57 AM
Tinkerer
don_cocinero's Avatar
Earth
Joined Oct 2005
388 Posts
Thanks for all the fish!!

Just a quick note to say that I appreciate immensely the dedication, patience and kindness you have all shown in helping us less enlightened aficionados.
The development of this project continues to provide me (and I am sure many others) with loads of fun. If we destroy a few bits in the process...well no one ever made an omelette without breaking a few eggs . To me the journey to a working quad IS the excitement! Chances are I'll turn to something else once I have a reliable working quad. I cannot thank you guys enough for all the learning you have facilitated.

I raise my glass to the new thread.
Don
don_cocinero is offline Find More Posts by don_cocinero
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 06:42 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
I have tried Aeroquad v1.2 with servotimer2 and as far as I'm concerned :
- no more cracking sounds
- engine bursts are still very present as you can see on the screen captures

Next step is inputing delay as soon as I find how to

SORRY : Aeroquad v1.1
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Last edited by bob.titus; Jun 17, 2009 at 07:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:06 AM
Omni
feliksayk's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
458 Posts
AeroQuad 1.2? Miko, you've updated it once more?
feliksayk is offline Find More Posts by feliksayk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:09 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feliksayk
AeroQuad 1.2? Miko, you've updated it once more?
woops!!!! I meant Aeroquad v1.1
That's what happens when you take your dreams for reality
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:10 AM
Omni
feliksayk's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
458 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob.titus
woops!!!! I meant Aeroquad v1.1
That's what happens when you take your dreams for reality
So Bob, you're saying it's working better now? The new AeroQuad v1.0.1 ?

I just noticed you are still using some of those experimental values, the windup guard and level limit. Maybe they are interfering with the Acrobatic mode code.
feliksayk is offline Find More Posts by feliksayk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:16 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feliksayk
So Bob, you're saying it's working better now? The new AeroQuad v1.0.1 ?
No, I mean : it's working better now with Aeroquad v1.1, I insist!
Can somebody explain how come v1.0.1 got upload AFTER v1.1???
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:19 AM
Omni
feliksayk's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
458 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob.titus
No, I mean : it's working better now with Aeroquad v1.1, I insist!
Can somebody explain how come v1.0.1 got upload AFTER v1.1???
I would say it's either a typographical error or the old v1.0 got a little tweak in it and so now is v1.0.1.
feliksayk is offline Find More Posts by feliksayk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:25 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCvertt
I put the Quad on the road, and armed the motors... they started to spin gently, and within a second, without me touching the throttle, suddenly went full throttle!!!!
....
Sorry to hear about the slice and dice flight you had At least you have possibly discovered one issue with the code, since changing the values may have affected the full throttle issue.

I'm assuming you didn't write down all of the values you put into the quad for both of these flights so we can reproduce your results? If so, would you mind taking a camcorder along with you so we can at least watch what is going on? I don't want to see you get cut up but I would have liked to see it go into the power lines if it's going to happen anyways.
You assume wrong
Here it is (eventhough the only doubt I have is regarding transmitter value that might have been 0,15 in both cases):
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Last edited by bob.titus; Jun 17, 2009 at 07:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:31 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feliksayk
I would say it's either a typographical error or the old v1.0 got a little tweak in it and so now is v1.0.1.
well then, could somebody explain the main differences betwwen v1.1 and v1.0.1?
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:35 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feliksayk
So Bob, you're saying it's working better now? The new AeroQuad v1.0.1 ?

I just noticed you are still using some of those experimental values, the windup guard and level limit. Maybe they are interfering with the Acrobatic mode code.
well again, could somebody then synthetize what should be and what should not be used for values?
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 08:09 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
I have managed to use Aeroquad Configurator with my french version of WinXP. It was so easy, I'm ashamed I did not think of it right away!
All I had to do was changing the localization of my user in windows control panel
Well it works fine now, and it's MUCH easier to setup the bird this way than constantly swapping between serial monitor and AeroConfig, having to disconnect and reconnect each of them constantly!

I have posted a (very boring) video on Youtube that shows the throttle issue viewed fom the configurator.
- I am using "X" config and "Servotimer2", and never move the sticks other than for arming/disarming purpose (only once I move the throttle a bit)
- the battery is not connected, only the USB is (and it does not change anything to the results if it is)
- you will notice that "mode" channel is toggling as well between min and max, and what is strange is that I initially had an issue with mode causing the serial to freeze...

Hope this helps:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0sT4-pXX4w
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools