HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 14, 2009, 08:21 AM
Joined Dec 2008
5 Posts
Discussion
Watts per pound

I am new to electrics and need know where I can find the watts per pound for electric.
Thanks
bobruhter is offline Find More Posts by bobruhter
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 14, 2009, 08:35 AM
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,443 Posts
Bob - watts per pound are found when you use a watt meter to determine how much power you system produces.

The meter goes in between your batter and ESC on your power system and it measures the watts/amps/volts. It is used for ground testing.

If the meter shows 100watts and you have a 1 pound airplane - you have a 100w/lb.

Simple as that.

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 14, 2009, 08:44 AM
Concord, MA
Joined Jun 2002
1,105 Posts
Watts per pound was what people used to talk about when determining how powerful a motor you needed to fly a plane. Watts was sort of a measure of power, except when prople satrted flyingthier electric planes the brushed motors were pretty inefficient, so 200 watts measured going into the motor was anywhere from 20% to 70% efficient.

People generally quoted 50 watts per pound as "adequate." I think this would be at the 70% efficiency, 35 watts OUTPUT per lb, and this is flying pretty marginally, like a piper cub style plane with a light wingloading, like a powered glider.

For ROG, 70 watts per pound is better. For a 3D plane, you are talking around 150 watts per lb.

If you are building a kit, the manufacturer would likely recommend a motor size.

The manufacturer of motors will list a watt rating for the motor, but prop size and cell count and cell type will all effect the output.