SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 08, 2009, 12:14 PM
Joined Jun 2009
14 Posts
Help!
How to record data from foreign sensors?

Hi all,

i'm looking for some information how to get external sensors to the ETC Flight Data Recorder.

Especially i need to know, in which data format the signal is to be recorded. I2C, RS 232?

For my diploma thesis i have to record data from a compass module. To decide which one to buy i need this information, because there are offered several types: the ones mentioned above, analog voltage, analog voltage length, UART, SPI, ...

As a mechanical engineer i don't know that much about that and ask you for help! =)

I need to record with a resolution range of 3600 steps, so the version using the a/d expander is not reaching the goal.

Can you help?

Greetings from Bavaria... =)
Soulkitchen is offline Find More Posts by Soulkitchen
Last edited by Soulkitchen; Jun 09, 2009 at 12:21 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 09, 2009, 07:20 AM
Saline, MI
Joined Jul 2006
300 Posts
Eagletree only offers one foreign sensor interface at this time, and that is their A2D interface. It has a 15 bit resolution, or 32768 steps it will divide an analog signal into.
I'm not seeing your issue.
dhares is offline Find More Posts by dhares
Old Jun 09, 2009, 11:02 AM
Joined Jun 2009
14 Posts
hi dshares,

okay, i'm trying to specify my problem:
i need a compass module, which values are to be recorded by the elogger. the point is, that i cannot use the a/d expander for recording pulses, because it is to sensitive for interferences. Remember i need a solution of 3600 steps. with the range of the expander of 4 volts this is nearly 1/100 Volt per step! so this configuration is definitely too sensitive for external interferences like servomovements an so on.

digital values are not as vulnerable as analog values...