HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 01, 2009, 11:08 AM
Joined Oct 2008
3 Posts
Discussion
Help picking a NICE Sailplane (carbon fiber)

I need help form the experts, i have been flying for about nine months now. I am ready to move up to a Sailplane. I would like to get a carbon fiber sail plane. I would like to keep it around $500.00 dollars or less. I would appriceate any feed back or possible links to a web sites. Thanks in advance

Javier
javie4 is offline Find More Posts by javie4
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2009, 12:28 PM
Chuck 'Em and Chase 'Em
United States, NY, Plainview
Joined Aug 2005
8,117 Posts
don't think on exists in that price range, unless you go used.
Fly2High is offline Find More Posts by Fly2High
Old Jun 01, 2009, 12:45 PM
Fly R/C writer
Redlands, Ca
Joined Dec 2004
1,965 Posts
Hi Javier,

Rather than starting out with price, how about we start out with what kind of sailplane you would like to have.

Are you thinking to fly a thermal duration, (flatland) type plane, or a slope aircraft?

What size? 2-meter or larger? Some planes are pretty darn big, with a fuselage of better than 60-inch long and wing panels that are even longer.

Are looking for a plane with ailerons and flaps or a more simple RES plane? (if it's the aileron and flap plane, do you have a radio capable of working those controls in harmony with the plane, as designed?)

Do you intend to launch from a hi-start or winch?

What exactly do you mean when you say a carbon fiber plane? What we consider an all carbon construction plane is truly not all carbon for the most part. It will have layers of carbon on the wing skin with other materials. There are a lot of planes that are carbon reinforced in critical areas, but use conventional materials in the non-critical spots.