HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 04, 2012, 12:58 PM
TEAM HILLBILLY
Eagle34's Avatar
Pass Christian, MS
Joined Jan 2010
2,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
red
You sir, have a PM.
Eagle34 is offline Find More Posts by Eagle34
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2012, 06:43 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Bloomfield Hills
Joined Apr 2012
20 Posts
Motor box extension

Any one not using the electric motor box extension on their Velox, I'm in the process of a 72 Extra build and I sure could use one. I bought the airframe used and the motor box extension was not in the box, work me up a price including shipping, thanks a lot.
mzl969 is offline Find More Posts by mzl969
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 06:49 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzl969 View Post
Any one not using the electric motor box extension on their Velox, I'm in the process of a 72 Extra build and I sure could use one. I bought the airframe used and the motor box extension was not in the box, work me up a price including shipping, thanks a lot.
It's not even close to being the same.... That said....I can make you a mount to take it's place if nobody has one.....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 02:53 PM
Registered User
rmr24's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
783 Posts
My cowl fits fine, but with it in place there seems to be no way the canopy will fit under it, is this what this modification suppose to fix? Is the canopy suppose to fit under the cowl as the previous version? I feel like I'm missing something here.



Quote:
Originally Posted by horton View Post
Hey guys, the 70" Veloxs are shipping. Some trimming of the cowl is needed on this version. Real simple and makes a nice, tight fit.

The manual will be updated, but wanted you all to be aware.

I have to say, I haven't been a big fan of gas in this size, but the DLE 20 powered Velox has changed my mind. So much fun. If anyone is on the fence about gas vs. electric, go for the DLE 20!
rmr24 is offline Find More Posts by rmr24
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 03:25 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,686 Posts
Yes, the canopy is supposed to go under the cowling, and yes, trimming it alleviated this problem.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:29 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
The trimming is shown in the manual. Did you trim it per manual and still have issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmr24 View Post
My cowl fits fine, but with it in place there seems to be no way the canopy will fit under it, is this what this modification suppose to fix? Is the canopy suppose to fit under the cowl as the previous version? I feel like I'm missing something here.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 07:00 PM
Registered User
rmr24's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
783 Posts
Yes, I had cut away the cowl as shown in the manual before my first post and was still a long way from getting the canopy to fit under the cowl. I went back and cut away further up the sides of the cowl and also sanded away the paint at the corners of the cowl and finally got it to fit together but it is very tight and takes a bit of work. Hopefully it will loosen up a little over time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
The trimming is shown in the manual. Did you trim it per manual and still have issues?
rmr24 is offline Find More Posts by rmr24
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 08:09 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmr24 View Post
Yes, I had cut away the cowl as shown in the manual before my first post and was still a long way from getting the canopy to fit under the cowl. I went back and cut away further up the sides of the cowl and also sanded away the paint at the corners of the cowl and finally got it to fit together but it is very tight and takes a bit of work. Hopefully it will loosen up a little over time.
Whenever you fit a cowling like this, install canopy first then put a couple of strips of masking tape on the canopy, Then when you fit the cowling, you will have a bit of clearance....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:04 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
mocking up the os gt 22 on the velox and the throttle linkage want to go right through the engine mount....pain in the butt!!
Anyone put an os gt 22 on the velox yet?
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:34 AM
Registered User
rmr24's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
783 Posts
Spent most of yesterday and part of this morning working on that. I had a Spot-On throttle arm on hand I wound up using. Here are some photos:

Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350228823.837961.jpg
Views: 99
Size: 67.9 KB
Description:

Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350228837.420105.jpg
Views: 80
Size: 77.3 KB
Description:

Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350228851.245089.jpg
Views: 82
Size: 77.3 KB
Description:

Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350228863.852474.jpg
Views: 92
Size: 67.0 KB
Description:
rmr24 is offline Find More Posts by rmr24
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 11:21 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
Very nice! Thanks...looks like you turned the throttle arm 180 degrees from stock? Does the throttle arm use one set screw only?
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
rmr24's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
783 Posts
Yes, I rotated the arm so the rod could go between the motor mounts. The stock arm is held in place by the screw on top. The Spot-On arm has places for two set screws, but I only used one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
Very nice! Thanks...looks like you turned the throttle arm 180 degrees from stock? Does the throttle arm use one set screw only?
rmr24 is offline Find More Posts by rmr24
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 07:32 PM
Bob418
United States, WI, West Bend
Joined Feb 2011
154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzl969 View Post
Any one not using the electric motor box extension on their Velox, I'm in the process of a 72 Extra build and I sure could use one. I bought the airframe used and the motor box extension was not in the box, work me up a price including shipping, thanks a lot.
Let me know if you still need the Velox Electric Box
bob418 is offline Find More Posts by bob418
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 09:38 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob418 View Post
Let me know if you still need the Velox Electric Box
I believe he got an actual 72" extension, but the Velox extension is nowhere near to being the same anyway....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 09:57 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
I bet the velox is much smaller for the extension.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3D Hobby Shop Velox Revolution 47" 800mZero 3D Flying 8497 Dec 19, 2011 10:48 AM
Discussion 25 Flights: 3D Hobby Shop Velox Revolution Doc Austin 3D Flying 45 Apr 21, 2008 09:19 AM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 47" Velox: On 3S sun.flyer Electric Plane Talk 4 Dec 07, 2007 10:13 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 47" Velox: sun.flyer Electric Plane Talk 3 Dec 07, 2007 01:23 PM