HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by thistle2311, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 24, 2009, 09:08 PM
Lots of Air Play
United States, CT, Coventry
Joined Dec 2008
813 Posts
Discussion
How I Got into Handlaunch Gliders

We all have a story about getting into HandLaunch Gliders. What's yours?

Here's mine.

I'm a self-employed architect who loves to sail and more recently to fly handlaunch gliders. I stumbled upon the handlaunch scene by accident. Back in college I built a few freeflight gliders and although radio control was around the components were too big and too pricey for a guy in college. So I went away from it although my interest remained.

I have some in-laws from Switzerland and on one trip over there I saw sailplanes flying in the vicinity of Gstaad. To make a long story short, I ended up thermaling in a high performance german-made glider over the Alps for several hours at the hands of a pilot whose name I recall was Sperben Marcus.

Then in 2010 I decided to do a search on his name and on glider clubs in Switzerland, and that's when I came upon RC gliders. Wow, I said, look what I've been missing all these years.