Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 17, 2009, 11:36 PM
Joined May 2009
8 Posts
Discussion
paint or covering film?

Hi, this is my first time posting, so I am sorry if I put this in the wrong area. I bought a wooden airplane kit, but when I opened the box the fuselage and wings were covered in this covering film sort of stuff, but it looks allot less thicker then covering film. The color of the stuff is white see-through. So my question is, to get the plane to the right color do I paint it or do I use covering film
pilot 09 is offline Find More Posts by pilot 09
to remove ads between posts
Old May 17, 2009, 11:46 PM
Suspended Account
Fountain Valley, California
Joined Feb 2004
10,768 Posts
Welcome to RCGroups, pilot 09.
willhaney is offline Find More Posts by willhaney
Old May 18, 2009, 10:22 AM
Alpharetta, GA
Joined Jun 2003
209 Posts
You can paint some film, but it isn't easy. Search the forums for something like 'painting film'. There are some really helpful threads out there.

It is very difficult to put film over film for large areas. Trapped air forms bubbles and it will look like it has the measles.

You can decorate the clear areas with trim material from the hobby shop. It comes in various colors and sizes. It looks like film but it is thicker and has an adhesive on the back covered with plastic film. You can cut it to many different shapes....stars, sunbursts, stripes, etc. Just draw your design on paper, tape it to a piece of trim, and cut it out with an exacto knife. It doesn't require any heat. Just peal the plastic off and stick it down. Once it touches the airplane covering it will really stick...no second chances to reposition. You should practice making some designs and sticking them down on something before you try the airplane. Decals are also an option to customize your plane.

Lastly, you could strip the film off the airplane and recover with colors of your choice. You would need some experienced help.