HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 15, 2001, 11:57 PM
H2OFLY
Portland Oregon USA
Joined Feb 2000
2,509 Posts
What thrust line for twin Kadet Senior?

I am going to finish my twin-motored wing to go on my Kadet Senior fuselage. What thrust line would work best for this high-wing model?

Thanks,

Terry
temacc is offline Find More Posts by temacc
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 16, 2001, 12:57 AM
Speed Demon
Antioch,CA,USA
Joined Dec 1999
12,280 Posts
I'm no expert nor am I an engineer type but it seems to me that the thrust line is angled to offset any drag induced pitch changes on an airframe. With the original plane the motor is below the center of drag. The motor would be pulling the wing (source of highest drag) and causeing a pitch up moment so they usually give it some down thrust to counter the motor incited positive piching force. With the motor on the wing, its pulling the drag straight ahead. You may get a bit of down pitching from the the fuse and landing gear drag so that maybe just a touch of up thrust would do well here. Hopefully, someone with a bit more experiance will chime in now. The drag model makes sence to me though.
GregG is online now Find More Posts by GregG
Old Jul 16, 2001, 08:26 AM
Visitor from Reality
United States, VA, Arlington
Joined Dec 1996
12,788 Posts
I'd go along with Greg (I have to build one of these twin things!) and start with Zero, keeping the option to add a little "up" thrust if needed. His version of the force setup sounds real good.

Know about the thing with oily twins about angling the motors out, but assymetric deadsticks are their problems, so zero to a possible couple of degrees right thrust sounds good in that direction.

You can always have a crafty test fly before you go building sexy nacelles around the motors, too.

Dereck
Dereck is offline Find More Posts by Dereck
Old Jul 16, 2001, 10:22 PM
Folsom,Ca,USA
Joined Apr 2001
992 Posts
Hi,
I'd start with zero thrust angles.