HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 03, 2009, 10:17 AM
Registered User
Santiago, Chile
Joined Feb 2008
38 Posts
Discussion
Yet another Spektrum DX7 with BACKUP ERROR

Hi,

After losing a whole day researching why my 1 year-old radio (DX7) died on a design problem (infamous BACKUP ERROR), I finally found out the following facts:

1.- It may happen if the battery drains, if you unplug the battery with the radio on, or if the fuse burns (pretty normal circumstances).

2.- It's NOT user-fixable. It loses the software and needs to be re-programmed.

3.- Everyone goes through the same research-torture since there's no information at all in the spektrum website about this failure.

4.- It will take hundreds of dollars and hours to have it sent, fixed, and back unless you live nearby a spektrum representative.

5.- There are more users every month that have the same problem. I wonder what will happen the following years.

Spektrum should have a section at their website that explains the design problem, and enable a service that allows you to send, get a fix, and receive your radio at no cost, and in a decent period of time (not four weeks but two at most).

What do you think?
rcastro is offline Find More Posts by rcastro
Last edited by rcastro; May 04, 2009 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 03, 2009, 10:38 AM
Registered User
HobbyCNC's Avatar
Joined May 2004
602 Posts
Hmmm.... I JUST blew the fuse on MY DX7 and replaced the fuse (3A fast acting) and all is well...NO backup error for me!

Hundreds of dollars to ship? Where do you live "the moon"?

More users every month as sales keep going up!

I sign my posts with my name,

Dave "very happy with Spektrum" Rigotti
HobbyCNC is online now Find More Posts by HobbyCNC
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2009, 11:35 AM
Registered User
Santiago, Chile
Joined Feb 2008
38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HobbyCNC
Hmmm.... I JUST blew the fuse on MY DX7 and replaced the fuse (3A fast acting) and all is well...NO backup error for me!

Hundreds of dollars to ship? Where do you live "the moon"?

More users every month as sales keep going up!

I sign my posts with my name,

Dave "very happy with Spektrum" Rigotti
Not the moon, but far enough to have to pay some serious shipping. Besides, you need to add what Horizon or Spektrum will charge to actually fix it.
I'm extremely happy with my DX7 just like you Dave. What I'm not happy with is the sensation of uncertainty: that if I make any mistake with the battery I will end up sitting for a month waiting for my radio to come back :-(
rcastro is offline Find More Posts by rcastro
Last edited by rcastro; May 03, 2009 at 11:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2009, 03:21 PM
Registered User
USA
Joined Sep 2003
967 Posts
Because of your location I can understand your feelings.

However, locally (loads of DX7's dating to 2006) we have had zero "back up error" incidents.
I have read of them but every time it seems the Tx was left on and the battery flattened. Simply comes out user error as irritating as it must be, (particularly outside the US).

I've been at this RC flying game for 49 years and that is one failure mode I have never experienced. (leaving the Tx on)

Sorry you've got the problem as it is an excellent Tx/Rx combination.
onewasp is offline Find More Posts by onewasp
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2009, 08:50 PM
Registered User
Wellington, NZ
Joined Aug 2006
841 Posts
Living in NZ, I shudder at the thought of ever having to send my DX7 to the States as well.

I have left my Tx turned on and was much relieved to find it survived OK.
linw is offline Find More Posts by linw
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2009, 08:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2005
6 Posts
Well i am from Sweden and my DX7 got the message "Bakup error"
My question is Do i have to sent it back to Horizon Hobby USA or is there any place closer to me to sent it to.

Thanks /Richard
Gezuz is offline Find More Posts by Gezuz
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2009, 09:11 AM
Registered User
USA
Joined Sep 2003
967 Posts
Contact MacMan at MacGregors in the UK.
onewasp is offline Find More Posts by onewasp
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2009, 12:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2005
6 Posts
"Contact MacMan at MacGregors in the UK."

How do I contact MacMan at MacGregors or where do i find him.

Regards /Richard
Gezuz is offline Find More Posts by Gezuz
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2009, 03:03 PM
59 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,357 Posts
This may be who you are looking for:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=20041
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2009, 03:22 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Slough
Joined Aug 2003
1,965 Posts
Sorry to say but as it's a Spektrum system, there is nothing I or MacGregors can do. Contact Horizon UK....

Address;
Horizon Hobby UK
Units 1 to 4 Ployters Road
Staple Tye,
Southern Way,
Harlow,
ESSEX CM18 7NS

Telephone;
44 (0) 1279 641097
Fax;
44 (0) 1279 428863

E-Mail;
sales@horizonhobby.co.uk
theaton56 is offline Find More Posts by theaton56
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 07:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2005
6 Posts
Thanks for the answer people. I contact Horizon Hobby Uk and ask them what to do.

I also did bay the JR DSX7 (A excellent radio) just as a waiting radio for my DX 7 to be repaired. You canīt be out off the 2.4 when you get use to it
Thanks again /Richard
Gezuz is offline Find More Posts by Gezuz
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 09:48 AM
Registered User
tungym's Avatar
Planet Earth
Joined Jul 2005
713 Posts
I love my specktrums and I did blow up my DX7 due to my abuse. I ordered a FUTABA spektrum module (+AR7000) for USD110 only . A single AR7000 cost UDS $100 in my locality. So I install the $10 module into my legend T7CHP and I send my DX7 to Horizon for repair. They indeed have an excellent customer service record for me.
I will stick to Spektrum for the coming future.
tungym is offline Find More Posts by tungym
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion spektrum dx7 with AR6100 rx doomracing Sailboats 20 Aug 01, 2007 09:06 AM
Sold Used Spektrum DX7 with a AR6100 rx. for $170 shipped to USA. powerlines Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 Jun 08, 2007 08:38 PM
YAPP - Yet Another PIC Program, with some differences Martin SJ Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 14 Mar 18, 2006 04:17 PM
New Product And Yet, Another PVR Device...With CCD Video Camera Randy Due Aerial Photography 2 Feb 17, 2006 08:45 AM
Yet another Easy * but with spoilerons CarlosTheGreat Aerial Photography 16 Oct 31, 2005 07:59 AM