HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 11, 2001, 08:39 AM
Balsa Flies Better!
Stamford, CT
Joined Oct 2000
6,704 Posts
Hobby Hangar Mini Edge 540

To all you guys kicking around the Mini Laser 3D- this airplane may be an alternative- a bit sturdier- similar size, a bit heavier- more scale like- yes I know it's still stand way off and squint scale...

After a snafu, I finally got my kit of this airplane. On the plus side, I think this airplane may do a nice electric conversion-it's coming up in the building queue but I'm a slow builder.
Wings- the only practical thing to do to lighten the wings further is to hack out the centers of the ribs. I'll probably do some of that once I have the wing framed up- not as neat, but it's easier to build a wing with stronger ribs. The airplane has a nice fat airfoil- easy to take some extra weight out of the ribs- also means that the airplane won't be quick. I think this airplane needs a gearbox- direct drive, small props and fat airfoils are a bad mixture.
Tail feathers- built up- no weight reduction required.
Fuse- a bit overbuilt- some lightening holes, needed- probably thinner sides would help, but I won't bother. Wood selection overall in the kit is pretty good.

I suspect that these guys are either being dead honest with the weights of this airplane (listed as 19-24 oz) or they're pessimistic- I'll bet I can come up with a finished electric version under 20 ounces. I'm going to use an MTM S-300 geared 5:1 (Speed 280BB) and an 8 cell 500 SR Max pack. Need to check if the Pixie 7 can handle 3 S80 servos.

At this point, there are a couple of flaws- my kit came with- or rather didn't come with- i.e. directions.

Other boo boos- the radio installation doesn't make sense as shown on the plans.

The plastic wheel pants are way heavy- and are probably going to be left off. I'd probably do that anyway.