SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 29, 2009, 10:24 PM
Crash? Landing? Both?
Bay area in CA
Joined Oct 2008
181 Posts
Help!
Could someone show me an arf plane that would work with this motor?

Hello all,

I saw this cheap engine and thought it was a somking deal!

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...e_Glow_Engine_

Could someone give me a link to a plane that would work with this engine?
(I am new to gas planes.)

Thanks for the help!!
-stuntflier91-
stuntflier91 is offline Find More Posts by stuntflier91
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2009, 06:44 AM
Will fly for food
Maryland
Joined Sep 2004
8,424 Posts
First, that is a glow engine (also known as a nitro engine) NOT a gas engine.

Glow or nitro engines burn a fuel that is a mix of methanol, nitromethane, and oil.

Gas egnines run a mixture of gasoline and oil (like a weed whacker).

Look for a trainer designed for a .15 - .25 or so engine, and this engine should work. I don't know of any ARF trainers that small. Most are designed for .40 - .46 size engines.
Pinecone is offline Find More Posts by Pinecone
Old Apr 30, 2009, 07:29 AM
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,214 Posts
Have you heard of the good, fast, cheap rule? cheap can equal not good or fast.....I have heard of ASP and what it stands for in slang.....be very careful.....not alot of folks fly ASP
Good Luck
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Old Apr 30, 2009, 12:32 PM
Shrewsbury, Shropshire.
Joined Mar 2008
988 Posts
There used to be a trainer called "Happy Fly" from World Models, it was really designed for a 20 but your engine might fly it if you can find one.

Other than that, the British company Flair, make a vintage/old timer ARF called the Junior 60 which will probably fly on a 15. This is quite an iconic model which first flew in 1946 in free flight form.

However, you're into aerobatics as your website handle suggests, neither of these models would impress you.