HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 18, 2009, 11:07 PM
Joined Apr 2009
4 Posts
Discussion
Full Homemade Scale Gyrocopter advise please

HI Everyone,

My Dad and I built this from scratch about 12-15 Yrs ago. He has a full size which we scaled down. We purchased heli blades and made a jig and sanded the bottom flat to achieve a better gyro type airfoil shape.

We machined the head and blade centre, made the mast etc from box alloy and clamped as per the real thing. Rotor head is moved by 2 servos using a computerised radio like v-tail input. The yellow front is fibreglass that we moulded up ourselves. The tall tail is alloy ribs covered with solarfilm.

Engine is saito 65. I have NO Heli experience at all, At the time I only 3-4 years of rc plane flying as well as many hours in a real gyro.

We never really pursued the flying thing enough. I'm sure I did a hop of a few metres but later taxi ing wrecked a set of blades, of which we were only able to purchase 3 sets of discontinued stock so we hung it up and left it. I was only like 14 yr old at the time and my memory is a little hazy on this.

The blades have a flat bottom and have positive pitch. They spin up very easily and really whiz! I have no idea that anyone else was trying to get a REAL rc gyro copter flying, I had only seen Gyro planes in rc form.

Rotor Diameter is 1.3metres and weight is around 3 Kg. We first tried the blades mounted on the model, sat out in our yard with a house brick each side on the under carridge. We faced it into a 20-30knot breeze and with a gentle hand flick, full back stick, they spun up very easily and very quickly, fast enough and with enough lift to flex the undercarridge and raise the centre off the model up 10mm or more.

I'm now thinking of having another crack at this. I'm now 28 and maybe with a little more experience and advice I maybe able to get it happening.