Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 19, 2011, 08:40 AM
Registered User
Dillzio's Avatar
Australia, SA, Parafield
Joined Oct 2009
314 Posts
Thanks for the input. I use a v-tail mixer (GWS 200 step) and mechanical aileron differential, so i should still be able to keep differential ailerons and i set the elevator differential by adjusting the end points (ATV) of that channel.

I was planning on putting the gyro on the aileron channel before the mixer
Dillzio is offline Find More Posts by Dillzio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 19, 2011, 09:46 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,438 Posts
Sure, then just adjust the ATV or dual rates for the aileron to adjust roll rates.
I have a DX7 on the plane in the video here:
http://www.mycoolrc.com/gyro/controlthrows.html
It allows me to go above 100% on the dual rates so it affects the endpoints for that channel. Look starting at 4:30
You will see an example of 100% and 125% dual rates and how the roll rates are affected. If you were to look at the difference on the ground, you would not really see any or much difference in difflection of the aileron.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 10:11 AM
Registered User
Dillzio's Avatar
Australia, SA, Parafield
Joined Oct 2009
314 Posts
Thanks heaps Melnic! wow, the origidig thread creator, respect!

So each gyro does have a maximum roll rate, and turning the aileron channel's throw as high as it will go allows you to achieve the max possible roll rate. Even on my crappy hobbyking T6a i can adjust the throws to 120%, so that should work out great with my setup.

I'm leaning towards an esky 0704b, only 15 bucks delivered from ebay and it has rate and HH mode, and can be set from the transmitter.
Dillzio is offline Find More Posts by Dillzio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 10:45 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,438 Posts
Just be careful. I think there are some posts earlier back about Mixers and Certain gyros being jittery. I may be wrong but I think the 704B is one of them. See if you can find it.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 12:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
29 Posts
what exactly does the mixer do? just takes multiple input signals and combines them before sending one signal out to a servo? is it necessary to have one to use a gyro with alerons?
termeric is offline Find More Posts by termeric
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 03:29 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by termeric View Post
what exactly does the mixer do? just takes multiple input signals and combines them before sending one signal out to a servo? is it necessary to have one to use a gyro with alerons?

Mixer is for dealing with elevons. Look up the multiplex funjet.
Having a mixer allows you to hook up the gyro to just one control axis. Mixer then turns an aileron input into 2 different changes to the 2 elevon servos.

You don't need an onboard mixer to put a gyro on a plane if you have a simple 4 channel setup.
See this:
http://www.mycoolrc.com/gyro/indexnew.html
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 03:44 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
ESKY 704 + GWS V-Tail mixer is foolproof. I have two mixers.
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 19, 2011, 03:47 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatch15117 View Post
ESKY 704 + GWS V-Tail mixer is foolproof. I have two mixers.
Just to verify, Is that the 704 B, A or regular(Silver w/ blue label)?

Dillzio mentioned the B version.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 06:15 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melnic View Post
Just to verify, Is that the 704 B, A or regular(Silver w/ blue label)?

Dillzio mentioned the B version.


http://www.hobby-wing.com/gyro-ek2-0704.html

http://www.xheli.com/ek2-0704.html

http://www.hobbypartz.com/ek2-0704.html

It's the regular rate gyro. I'd assume both would work because E-SKY would most likely reuse the circuit in the HH version

http://www.mycoolrc.com/gyro/switchprogramming.html

That video page helped me a lot. I bought my gyro from the hobbypartz link when they were in stock. I paid $19.
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Last edited by chatch15117; Sep 19, 2011 at 06:21 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 19, 2011, 10:34 PM
Registered User
Dillzio's Avatar
Australia, SA, Parafield
Joined Oct 2009
314 Posts
How about the Titan 720? Will that suit my needs?
It seems to do everything the esky 704B does with the added bonus of having all square sides for easier mounting in aircraft.

Also, about affixing the gyro?
I know velcro is a no-no, but has anyone tried 3m dual lock tape?

I've tried velcro vs 3M dual lock for aerial photography with my keychain video camera, and dual-lock seemed to eliminate all of the vibration and give much clearer images.
Dillzio is offline Find More Posts by Dillzio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 10:41 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
I use a spot of hot glue. If you like crashing nose first on landings you may need something stronger.
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 19, 2011, 10:54 PM
Registered User
Dillzio's Avatar
Australia, SA, Parafield
Joined Oct 2009
314 Posts
Have you used 3M dual-lock?
Strength is not an issue, it's much stronger than velcro, and I think its design may actually dampen any vibrations
Dillzio is offline Find More Posts by Dillzio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 08:14 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,438 Posts
On foam, I epoxy something like a sheet of plastic or wood. Then use 3m indoor/outdoor foam tape. 1 or 2 layers.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 04:34 AM
Registered User
brace's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Ashby
Joined Jul 2011
219 Posts
I might have a re look at how I secured the gyro after this.
brace is online now Find More Posts by brace
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 06:49 AM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
i cut a cube of the foam that came in the gyro box and glued the back of the gyro to it. then i glued the bottom of that cube to the plane.
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Price Check on an RC Bike (Again, lol) RastaManBob Motorcycles 9 Nov 04, 2004 12:52 PM
First time on an RC airfield. Mendnwngs Fuel Plane Talk 18 Aug 03, 2004 09:57 AM
The most ridiculous use of an RC Airplane soholingo Electric Plane Talk 64 Dec 23, 2002 03:16 AM