Old Apr 17, 2009, 03:54 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,439 Posts
Discussion
Using Gyros on an RC airplane

EDIT:
(I was not the first to do this, I saw someone do this before me in a 1/4 scale SR22 back in 1992)

NOTE: This first post is several years old and contained some out dated information. Before asking questions, PLEASE check out this
HOW TO page:
INSTALLING GYROS IN AN AIRPLANE
OK, on to some of the original post ....

I want to start a thread on how to use an Electronic Gyro for stabilizing an RC airplane. I've used Gyros now on and off since 1994. My first attempt was when I wanted to fly my Midwest Aerostar Trainer in high winds. I had been flying Helicopters for 2-3 years at that point and airplanes for about 5 years and had a spare mechanical rate gyro. Being a somewhat knowledgable Helicopter pilot at the time, I felt I knew how to get it working w/ no help so I put it on the ailerons of my trainer that had one servo for the ailerons. Aligned the gyro w/ the roll axis and was off and running. I set a somewhat low gain of 30% and the airplane was SOO much more stable in the wind. I would plug the gyro inline w/ the aileron servo ONLY when the winds were 15mph or higher. Up to that point, the wind never bothered me. It also helped training my wife so the airplane would not have unwanted roll movements in the wind. After a 8 year pause in the hobby, In 2008 I got a foamie Electric (Sapac Extra 330L foamie). It did not do well in the wind being so light. I placed a spare GWS rate gyro that I had on it and voila, very stable in the winds. Here is a link:
Gyro on a Foamy Electric Sapac 330L (4 min 24 sec)