SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 17, 2009, 12:14 AM
Registered User
RickC2009's Avatar
USA, NY, Brookhaven
Joined Mar 2003
1,482 Posts
Discussion
no fail safe Dx6i AR6200

Dx6i with AR6200 works fine except for fail safe.
I binded it as per manual.

When I shut off TX the motor stops but servos go limp no power to them. They don't stay at there last position or go to the position I set when binded. The light on RX goes out! When I turn on TX it takes several seconds for it to reconnect and then everything works.

Anyone know why my fail safe is not working???



rickc



DX61

Ar6200

eflite 60 ESC

hitec hs 225
RickC2009 is offline Find More Posts by RickC2009
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 17, 2009, 05:55 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,814 Posts
Spektrum recommends you do the BND steps twice to properly set failsafe. IF you did already then ???
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2009, 08:06 AM
Registered User
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,773 Posts
Don't think 6200 has an active fail safe.
teamdavey is offline Find More Posts by teamdavey
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2009, 08:24 AM
Pompano Hill Flyers
Miami Mike's Avatar
Miami Lakes, Florida, USA
Joined Mar 2003
8,485 Posts
The DX6i manual says it does. It says this:
Quote:
Smart Safe Fail-Safe

The AR6200 features the SmartSafe™ fail-safe system.
The manual also says this:
Quote:
SmartSafe:

• Prevents unintentional electric motor response on start-up.

• Eliminates the possibility of over-driving servos on start-up.

• Establishes low-throttle fail safe if the RF signal is lost.

• Maintains last-commanded control surface position in the event of RF link interruption.

Note: Fail-safe positions are stored via the stick and switch positions on the transmitter during binding.

How Smart Safe works

Smartsafe is ideal for most types of electric aircraft and is also recommended for most types of gas- and glowpowered airplanes and helicopters. Here’s how SmartSafe works.

Receiver Power Only

When the receiver only is turned on (no transmitter signal is present), the throttle channel has no output, to avoid operating or arming the electronic speed control. In glow-powered models, the throttle servo has no input so it remains in its current position.

After Connection

When the transmitter is turned on, and after the receiver connects to the transmitter, normal control of all channels occurs. After the system makes a connection, if loss of signal occurs, SmartSafe drives the throttle servo only to its preset fail-safe position (low throttle) that was set during binding. All other channels hold their last position. When the signal is regained, the system immediately (less than 4 ms) regains control.
Miami Mike is offline Find More Posts by Miami Mike
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2009, 08:50 AM
Registered User
RickC2009's Avatar
USA, NY, Brookhaven
Joined Mar 2003
1,482 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Spektrum recommends you do the BND steps twice to properly set failsafe. IF you did already then ???
I binded many times!!!


I have bound to AR6100 receiver and that does hold servos at last input when I turn off RX.


rickc
RickC2009 is offline Find More Posts by RickC2009
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2009, 04:12 PM
Pompano Hill Flyers
Miami Mike's Avatar
Miami Lakes, Florida, USA
Joined Mar 2003
8,485 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickC2009
I have bound to AR6100 receiver and that does hold servos at last input when I turn off RX.
You mean when you turn off the TX?
Miami Mike is offline Find More Posts by Miami Mike
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2009, 09:51 PM
Registered User
RickC2009's Avatar
USA, NY, Brookhaven
Joined Mar 2003
1,482 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miami Mike
You mean when you turn off the TX?
yes you are correct I meant TX

Anyway I changed out the AR6200 for another one and it works just fine.
Guess I will be sending mine back to Spektrum for repair.
thanks for all your help
rickc
RickC2009 is offline Find More Posts by RickC2009
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding "fail-safe" to PPM/FM systems Mr.RC-CAM DIY Electronics 3 Nov 19, 2004 12:16 AM
Futaba Fail Safe Unit For Sale (eBay/No Reserve) 98 SNAKE EATER Cars - Cars and Parts (FS/W) 0 Oct 02, 2003 09:18 PM
GWS Fail Safe vancouverflyer Radios 5 Mar 01, 2003 01:42 PM