HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 27, 2003, 07:49 PM
Tuscaloosa, AL ROLL TIDE!
Joined Mar 2003
109 Posts
Flying GWS P-51 maiden tomorrow. First aileron plane and advice needed

Hey guys,

Well I've got my GWS P-51 Mustang set up and hope to maiden it tomorrow. I've been flying the SS for the past five months and have gotten really good with it, but this is my first aileron aircraft and am a little nervous, and would like to know what to expect. Can anyone give me some pointers that will hopefully help me have a crash-free maiden. I know checking the CG is very important. What is a decent throttle speed for cruising around? What should I expect from the turning capability of the ailerons themselves. And last, could I start off with using just the rudder and elevator? Sorry for all of the questions, but want to make sure it goes well. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm also going to be using an 8 cell 720mAh NIMH battery. Thanks for all of the help and look forward to reading your posts.

-Matt
Subysouth is offline Find More Posts by Subysouth
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 27, 2003, 07:56 PM
Strange Plane Central
Poway (near San Diego), CA US
Joined Dec 2000
1,883 Posts
The rudder on the mustang is not very effective for turning.
The mustang will tip stall 10 times more than your slow stick so don't let it slow down too much. The 730 mah NiMh will give you more power at less weight to get out of trouble. Do not use too much elevator.

Have fun
frankenfoamy is offline Find More Posts by frankenfoamy
Old Mar 27, 2003, 07:59 PM
United States, CA, Ontario
Joined Mar 2002
7,646 Posts