HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 11, 2001, 09:20 PM
Isaiah 40:31
West Palm Beach, FL
Joined Jun 2000
689 Posts
Convert a 1958 Mechanix Illustrated plan to electric

I have been flying traditional RC for 10 years and have a Mini IFO for after work fun. This is my first try in converting a slimer free flight to electric.

I have Burnelli Blended Wing Body Free Flight Model airplane plans from a 1958 Mechanix Illustrated that I want to convert to electric.

The wingspan is 51"
Overall Length is 31"
Over all area (fuse+wing panels)
499 1/8 sq inches
The Fuse itself has an area of 246 sq inches

The plans call for a pair of "O.K.Cub .099" engines.

What size motors do I need, what size battery pack am I going to need, and what size servo's would be good?

Are retracts practicle on a 51" electric?

This should be an interesting "floater", has anyone else flown a BWB with any sucess?

Thanks
RC

rc capo is offline Find More Posts by rc capo
to remove ads between posts
Old May 11, 2001, 10:05 PM
Electric Coolhunter
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Jun 2000
14,510 Posts
No reason at all that model would not work with a couple of Speed 400s or Speed 480s and a 8 cell pack. (Motors in parallel) Just keep it light.
Thomas B is offline Find More Posts by Thomas B
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 2014 events and travel
Old May 13, 2001, 07:25 PM
Visitor from Reality
United States, VA, Arlington
Joined Dec 1996
12,788 Posts
RC
Bit of a SWAG, but two geared S400 6V motors, around 8 or 9" props, eight cells. The Graupner gearboxes are good quality and match up to their "Slim Props" well, while "Mini Olympus" are cheap and cheerful, need care in setting up but work fine at less cost. Wired in parallel, each motor would "see" all 8 cells, and current draw is 2 X what each motor draws on its own - that suggests a 30A rated ESC would be a good buy to give a little flex.