HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 29, 2009, 12:20 PM
Menasha WI, USA
Joined Feb 2009
40 Posts
Build Log
Chop1's Barracuda

Okay, my second attempt at a scale boat. I chose the Barracuda by Dare Designs and designed by Pat Tritle. I bought the kit from M.A.C.K. Products .

I had a minor issue with the plans so I made a call to Rich at M.A.C.K., he directed me to Pat Tritle, and Pat forwarded me to Terry at Dare Designs. While this might sound like I got the run-around, it was actually quite the opposite. Each one of the men I talked to was more than happy to discuss my immediate issue, and then we went on to B.S. about other things that I might need to know while working on the build. THANKS for the help guys!!!

On to the build...

I have never built a hull before. I really liked the laser cut parts (they made it much easier).
Chop1 is offline Find More Posts by Chop1
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 29, 2009, 01:48 PM
Menasha WI, USA
Joined Feb 2009
40 Posts
I added putty to the points of the strakes. While I was waiting for it to dry I built the rudder.
Old Mar 29, 2009, 02:23 PM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,311 Posts
Awesome! Looks great! I have admired the Barracuda kit for a long time. I am very glad to see a build thread.

Do you salt your beer? When I was 16 I had a part time job at a gas station. The manager was a cool guy and he introduced me to beer. He drank Schlitz, and so then I did also. He salted his beer. And so then did I.
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Mar 29, 2009, 02:56 PM
Menasha WI, USA
Joined Feb 2009
40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmot
Awesome! Looks great! I have admired the Barracuda kit for a long time. I am very glad to see a build thread.

Do you salt your beer? When I was 16 I had a part time job at a gas station. The manager was a cool guy and he introduced me to beer. He drank Schlitz, and so then I did also. He salted his beer. And so then did I.