HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 28, 2009, 08:39 PM
Registered User
cjbucher's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Sep 2004
2,458 Posts
Question
Suppo 40 amp ESC or Turnigy 40 amp Plush ESC?

The Suppo 40 amp is cheaper and has less programming options for around $20

The Turnigy 40 amp Plush is about $33 and has a few more programming options.


I think they both work fine but if you had the choice to buy one or the other, which one would you get and why?

I'd be using it with an inrunner (probably around 3800 kv) and around 33-35 amp draw at full throttle...
cjbucher is online now Find More Posts by cjbucher
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 29, 2009, 07:50 AM
Registered User
cjbucher's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Sep 2004
2,458 Posts
Anyone?

Anyone with either of these ESC's that can tell me what you liked/disliked about it? Was the throttle response smooth and linear? Did it handle it's rated amps well?
cjbucher is online now Find More Posts by cjbucher
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2009, 11:39 AM
7000mw of raw power!
rich smith's Avatar
New Hampshire (not the old one)
Joined Dec 2006
5,987 Posts
I had trouble with some Suppos and there are design defects in some versions (Super Simple). Never an issue with Plush series and they are much better in terms of linearity and programmabilty to boot. Very little difference in price.
rich smith is offline Find More Posts by rich smith
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 08:42 AM
Fly Big, Low and Slow....
Alpina540's Avatar
USA, VA, Wicomico
Joined Aug 2008
1,358 Posts
I like the turnigy escs very nice reliable esc

-Anson
Alpina540 is offline Find More Posts by Alpina540
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 08:45 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2009
758 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich smith
I had trouble with some Suppos and there are design defects in some versions (Super Simple). Never an issue with Plush series and they are much better in terms of linearity and programmabilty to boot. Very little difference in price.
Yikes! I have two Super Simple, 50 amp optos, so please tell me of the defects!

One is controlling a 4 pound Spitfire.

If it's a danger to other people or property, I need to know!

Thanks
Mighty Manfred is offline Find More Posts by Mighty Manfred
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Eden Prairie, MN
Joined May 2008
330 Posts
I think what Rich might be referring to were the missing components (2) on some of the Super Simple ESC's that would not allow the ESC to work with 2S.
Curtis
Beau0090_99 is offline Find More Posts by Beau0090_99
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 09:20 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2009
758 Posts
I hope so: I'm using 3s and 4s A123's! It's a missle and I don't want a problem. Thanks
Mighty Manfred is offline Find More Posts by Mighty Manfred
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 09:32 AM
Registered User
Eden Prairie, MN
Joined May 2008
330 Posts
I think you would see the issue on commissioning, I wouldn't worry about it.
C
Beau0090_99 is offline Find More Posts by Beau0090_99
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 09:38 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2009
758 Posts
Thanks, Beau-so far, after 5 or 6 flights, it has been flawless.
Mighty Manfred is offline Find More Posts by Mighty Manfred
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 10:28 AM
7000mw of raw power!
rich smith's Avatar
New Hampshire (not the old one)
Joined Dec 2006
5,987 Posts
This was discussed extensively last week in 2 different threads. The problem occurs with 2s or less and is fixed by adding a resistor and capacitor. Not all models effected. Here's one:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...resistor+super

Personally I'd avoid using them in big or expensive planes. I'll risk them in my 4oz el cheapo foamies but not the 48" UAV. Don't wanna lose $50 worth of GPS/XBee.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mighty Manfred
Yikes! I have two Super Simple, 50 amp optos, so please tell me of the defects!

One is controlling a 4 pound Spitfire.

If it's a danger to other people or property, I need to know!

Thanks
rich smith is offline Find More Posts by rich smith
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2009, 10:36 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2009
758 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich smith
This was discussed extensively last week in 2 different threads. The problem occurs with 2s or less and is fixed by adding a resistor and capacitor. Not all models effected. Here's one:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...resistor+super

Personally I'd avoid using them in big or expensive planes. I'll risk them in my 4oz el cheapo foamies but not the 48" UAV. Don't wanna lose $50 worth of GPS/XBee.
Hm, if only I were omniscient!

However, mine is an "opto," and to a layperson like me, it appears the thread deals with the non-opto version.

Is this right (opto versus non-opto)?

Oddly, going from a 45 amp, quality esc with bec (built-in) to the SS 50 amp opto and external bec (Turnigy) reduced my esc temperature signifcantly with 4s A123.

If I'm endangering persons or property, I hope someone will tell me!

Thanks
Mighty Manfred is offline Find More Posts by Mighty Manfred
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Turnigy Sentry 40 Amp ESC w/ Built in Switching 3amp BEC - $29 shipped shawn595 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 2 Dec 17, 2008 10:31 PM
Wanted Looking for a Turnigy Plush 40 amp ESC Steph280 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Oct 23, 2008 12:12 AM
For Sale JGF 400DF motor and Suppo 40 amp ESC, $40 shipped Drew816 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 3 Sep 30, 2008 02:21 PM
Sold Turnigy ESC - 40 Amp and 25 amp electro_heli Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 2 Aug 07, 2008 03:05 PM
Found WANTED FS/FT 60 + Amp Brushed ESC and 3 cell Lipos rated 40 Amp continuous or higher dgfisher2004 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jul 25, 2005 10:29 PM