HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 24, 2009, 07:20 PM
Colne, Lancashire, UK
Joined Mar 2009
7 Posts
Question
Where do I start with CAD?

Hi there,

I'm planning on building an aircraft, from scratch, using some plans I've had for a few years now. I thought it would be cool to try and draw parts of the plan, such as the major formers and ribs, in a CAD program and then have them laser cut. I have a copy of AutoCAD 2010 but don't have a clue where to start as I've never used this software before.

I was hoping that somebody would be able to point me in the direction of a good tutorial explaining how I can get started? I've had a look around the forums but haven't had much joy.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Sam
Sam Dawson is offline Find More Posts by Sam Dawson
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2009, 07:49 PM
Zor
Suspended Account
Ontario,Canada
Joined Feb 2007
9,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Dawson
Hi there,

I'm planning on building an aircraft, from scratch, using some plans I've had for a few years now. I thought it would be cool to try and draw parts of the plan, such as the major formers and ribs, in a CAD program and then have them laser cut. I have a copy of AutoCAD 2010 but don't have a clue where to start as I've never used this software before.

I was hoping that somebody would be able to point me in the direction of a good tutorial explaining how I can get started? I've had a look around the forums but haven't had much joy.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Sam
Sam,

AutoCAD has an extensive help and learning assistance.

Start AitoCAD and click on help button. The drop down menu gives you choices.

You can also get help from the website.

Have fun,

Zor
Zor is offline Find More Posts by Zor
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 24, 2009, 07:51 PM
sneezes for lack of balsa dust
ME
Joined Oct 2008
501 Posts
...great advice, my dad had the software and I played about with it for a bit...