SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 21, 2009, 08:26 PM
moreno valley california
Joined Jun 2008
303 Posts
Discussion
Give me more! Cermark 50" Edge 540 and Extra 260

I thought I would share my build and flight experiences with my two cermark "30e" airplanes, an extra 260 and edge 540. I have been flying cermark airplanes for many years, although these two were my first electrics. After building and flying the 260, I thought it would be fun to do a build thread for the edge. both have the same set-up - a 15-900 Neu motor and Thunderbird ESC, driven by a lipo 2100 3s, leftovers from my 450 helicopter. servos are Hitec 65s, and an HS 81 on the rudder. If you use the 81 use the mg, as the nylon gears don't do so well. I also used a Cermark collet, but will use eventually change to an E Flite spinner.

these little airplanes are perfect for anyone who wants to move up from a "foamie" and try something that looks like an airplane. for you bigger guys, these things are just the ticket when you need fast stick time with something that looks and flies like an airplane. these models look good and fly well...

Both airplanes build the same. The "builder", if I can use that term, should study the planes and parts carefully before assembly, as the instructions are written generically for all the cermark models, and some steps or pictures don't fit. for example, the extra does not come with phenolic servo arms, the edge does. packaging is well done. but there are small parts, so dump everything into a small container when you start.

the motor box is straightforward and mounting is idiot proof. I did have to run the local hardware store to get motor screws long enough to penetrate the firewall, and while i was there I picked up what I needed to replace the axles - just my prefence

A few tips: