SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 03, 2009, 02:36 PM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
Question
What software for EasyCap?

I finally got my hands on an EasyCap device and have it installed and working. Does anyone know of any software out therej (preferably free) that can be used with this device and just display the video, without the capture gui? So far I've tried Ulead VideoStudio that comes with the device and that seems to work the best (almost no lag at all) but the rest of the application takes up 3/4 of the screen. I also tried Microsoft MovieMaker, which works but the lag is awful. The last program I tried was VLC but the lag was even worse. Any other options I should try?
gobigkahuna is offline Find More Posts by gobigkahuna
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 03, 2009, 02:43 PM
Registered User
Atlanta, GA
Joined Dec 2007
308 Posts
I've used Virtual VCR in the past, but to be honest, we're getting rid of our EasyCaps and getting a decent name-brand device instead.
ShadesOfGray is offline Find More Posts by ShadesOfGray
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2009, 03:08 PM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
I just found the answer to my own question: AMCap.exe I don't recall where I found it, but it's a simple, no-nonsense video display and there is almost no lag whatsoever. I couldn't be happier.

The EasyCap cost me about $20 including shipping and I've got to say that for the price it fills the bill. I used a Sony Digital 8 Handycam as the video feed using the composite connection and the video quality wasn't bad. The colors were a bit washed out, but for $20 I'm happy.
gobigkahuna is offline Find More Posts by gobigkahuna
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2009, 05:43 PM
FPV Freak :)
diem's Avatar
Radzionkow, Poland
Joined Sep 2008
594 Posts
Didnt u get Ulead VideoStudio SE with your EasyCap? This one is perfect. I just downloaded amcap but i see deinterlane on it.
diem is offline Find More Posts by diem
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2009, 07:03 PM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
Yes, it came with VideoStudio, but the user interface and buttons take up 3/4's of the screen. I want the video to fill my whole screen, so AMCap is perfect for that. No, I'm not seeing any additional interlacing but that's not as important to me as there not be any lag in the display.
gobigkahuna is offline Find More Posts by gobigkahuna
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2009, 08:05 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gobigkahuna
I just found the answer to my own question: AMCap.exe I don't recall where I found it, but it's a simple, no-nonsense video display and there is almost no lag whatsoever. I couldn't be happier.

The EasyCap cost me about $20 including shipping and I've got to say that for the price it fills the bill. I used a Sony Digital 8 Handycam as the video feed using the composite connection and the video quality wasn't bad. The colors were a bit washed out, but for $20 I'm happy.
AMCAP was a great suggestion. It loads up super fast and is very light!

http://www.camera-drivers.com/drivers/85/85104.htm
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 03, 2009, 09:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
16 Posts
Here are some more options that might work.

http://www.thefreecountry.com/utilit...-capture.shtml

I tried CaptureFlux and it worked well with my capture device (Plextor Convertx). Seems pretty quick and snappy. AMCap.exe for some reason didn't work for me.
JakAck is offline Find More Posts by JakAck
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2009, 09:38 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Did you select Options, Video Input, Video Composite on AMCAP?
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 03, 2009, 09:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
16 Posts
Edit: Thanks for getting me to try it again. I had to go to options>preview to view live. I guess I was just assuming it would pop up on the screen when I opened it.

I've also been looking for a more minimalist program for a while since the software that came with it seemed to lock up my system.

Here is another good program I tried out that is free, however a little more bulky than AmCap. NCH Debut
http://www.nchsoftware.com/capture/index.html
JakAck is offline Find More Posts by JakAck
Last edited by JakAck; Mar 03, 2009 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2009, 03:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
6 Posts
Just wanted to mention VirtualDub (http://www.virtualdub.org/). It works great to capture and it is also able to display the video in fullscreen while recording. I am using it with a MSI MiniVox USB to record my flights, but watch the video on a CRT-TV while flying. For Recording I use a DV-Codec and deinterlace the Video later.

cheers

- Daniel
Masher is offline Find More Posts by Masher
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! What is the best DVD software for burning large compilations? Bedeud FPV Talk 3 Dec 07, 2008 01:23 PM
Discussion what software do you use for video editing burro breath Aerial Photography 5 Sep 11, 2006 07:46 PM
What`s the best software for phx-10 and 25 TheUrgeMan Castle Creations 2 Apr 28, 2005 10:30 PM
What version software for Himaxx motor? Flyingfool Castle Creations 3 Aug 20, 2004 01:49 PM
What battery for a 480 motor... tnsfrk Electric Plane Talk 9 May 28, 2001 12:41 AM