Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 28, 2009, 11:30 PM
Fargo N.D. Land of Blizzards-Floods-Mosquito's & Tornado's
Joined Jul 2008
1,168 Posts
Discussion
Help assigning Aux 1?

This is my first attempt at building a helicopter. I have ran into a snag on how to assign aux 1 on the receiver to left aileron. It is currently assigned to throttle so when I throttle up the servo is operating and the motor starts. I have a DX6i with an AR6100e receiver.
I just don't know how to actually assign it with the receiver? Help??
helinut2 is offline Find More Posts by helinut2
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2009, 05:41 AM
59 years of RC flying
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,013 Posts
You're going to have to tell us a good deal more about what type of helicopter and what exactly your problem is. Also, you might be better off looking for information on how to set up a helicopter in the appropriate helicopter forum. Finally, "left aileron" doesn't apply in the case of a helicopter.

But here's a try anyway.

I'm assuming you are setting up a collective pitch helicopter with electronic CCPM arrangement (three servos driving the swash plate).

That means you should set the swash type for CCPM 120 (page 89 of the manual). If you do this, then receiver channel 6 drives servo 3, while channels 2 and 3 drive servos 1 and 2 respectively.

The servos are often called aileron, elevator and pitch, but this is very misleading as no one servo does any one function. Rather, the aileron movement of the right stick (assuming mode 2) causes the two side servos (1 and 3) to move in opposite directions (for lateral tilt). Forward elevator movement causes 1 & 3 to go down and 2 to go up (assuming the side servos are at the front). Collective pitch (throttle stick) causes all three servos to go up or down.

I hope this answers your question. If not, tell us more.

PS Your Lat and Long coordinates seem to indicate North Dakota. Why not show that directly in your profile?