SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Old Feb 21, 2009, 06:32 PM
Joined Feb 2009
23 Posts
Help!
Newbie Needs Help!!! Tamiya TT-01, Speed Control Problem

I guess you can call me a newbie seeing that I never touched a RC Car before and I just finally purchased my first used Traxxas Rustler and Tamiya yesterday from Craigslist.

I got into this thing due to the fact that my housemate owns several RC airplanes and helicopters and has some basic knowledge in the Cars area, seeing that the hardware is very similar.

I started playing with them yesterday too and found out that both cars needed fixing. The Traxxas needed a servo and the Tamiya, well thats why I am here asking. The Tamiya seems to have something wrong with either the Speed Control or the Engine as what I am hearing from the housemate. We seemed to narrow it down to the Speed Control though.

What happened in the beginning was the car didn't want to move when I squeezed the accelerator. What I ended up trying to do was to push the car forward, so the motor would rotate, and all of a sudden with the accelerator squeezed the car would run like it should. If I let off the accelerator and try to squeeze it again the car wouldn't respond. The Motor was also a Monster 27 CO27 Cobalt Stock Motor which was an upgrade from the Factory Stock Motor. The housemate and I actually switched out the Monster 27 for the Factory Stock, and it showed some improvement there after, but still one little problem, which is where it might come down to the Speed Control. After the switch in the motors we were able to get a constant acceleration only if we squeezed the trigger very slowly, if we had quickly squeezed it the tires would rotate and stop every two seconds or so continuously.

Could someone help me figure if it sounds like the Speed Control or the Motor, or Both.
GarySJR is offline Find More Posts by GarySJR
Last edited by GarySJR; Mar 07, 2009 at 01:18 AM. Reason: n/a