HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 11, 2012, 07:31 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,874 Posts
Bubba, using the smaller PS is no real advantage. It doesn't matter what the MAXIMUM rating of the PS is. If you put the same charger load on either supply they will take the same power from the wall (assuming they are of similar efficiencies - which they will be).

You just need to make sure you don't pull more than the wall socket can supply. The bigger supply COULD pull more current from the wall than the smaller one but only if you ask it to by putting a charger load on it that requires that. The smaller supply will shut down before the big one of course and so limit the current to 19.8 Amps instead of 22Amps on 110/120V but I think that is still over your domestic socket limit which is 15A??

Bottom line, you limit the wall supply current by not putting too high a charger load on the power supply.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba Gump View Post
Did nyone ever figure the pin out for this one. http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=883

with 2 of these in series would be perfect cause it doesnt draw much off a 120 line compared to the dl580s which would draw 22amps maxed out vs these would be 18.8amps. fully loaded.
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2012, 12:38 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Delta DPS-600RB IBM X365T PSU Full Pinout

Delta DPS-600RB IBM X365T PSU Full Pinout.

Connect PS ON and PS Kill to ground to power up.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Jan 12, 2012 at 03:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 01:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
3 Posts
Could someone please point me in the right direction. I need to find a high amperage power suppy that has adjustable voltage ( perfect voltage is 13.6 to 13.8 vDC ) that I can build cheaply and be reliable. It is for my ham radio project. I bought an adjustable power supply ( says 30A) but it cannot power the higher 55 w output of my new transceiver . Any help would be much appreciated !
Will in Boise

p.s. DPS-600PB B Proliant DL380 G4 575W Redundant Power Supply ?? Easy to modifiy for what I need ?
shalom72c is offline Find More Posts by shalom72c
Last edited by shalom72c; Jan 12, 2012 at 01:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 10:31 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Delta DPS-835AB, Artesyn 7001138-Y000, IBM x3650 3655 835W(12.1v 69A) PSU Enable Pins

Delta DPS-835AB, Artesyn 7001138-Y000, IBM x3650 3655 835W PSU Enable Pins.

Connect pin 3 to pin 4 to power up.

Slightly smaller than the DPS-600PB but has 20A more current.

The Artesyn model has a highly efficient electrical and thermal design.

It runs very cool for its small size. Great choice for portable use.

This PSU will not have the best voltage regulation if you use the connectors.

You need to solder the DC power wires/cables directly to the mainboard.

Voltage regulation will be near perfect once this is done.

A 5k pot between pin 17 and ground will adjust output voltage.

The fan will ramp up automatically with load.

Will also run without the fan so all fan mods will work.

The best way to find this PS is to search "IBM 835w power supply".
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Jul 18, 2012 at 09:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 09:03 PM
Registered User
Near Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Joined Dec 2004
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shalom72c View Post
Could someone please point me in the right direction. I need to find a high amperage power suppy that has adjustable voltage ( perfect voltage is 13.6 to 13.8 vDC ) that I can build cheaply and be reliable. It is for my ham radio project. I bought an adjustable power supply ( says 30A) but it cannot power the higher 55 w output of my new transceiver . Any help would be much appreciated !
Will in Boise

p.s. DPS-600PB B Proliant DL380 G4 575W Redundant Power Supply ?? Easy to modifiy for what I need ?
The DPS600 will certainly provide the current you need and with a bit of work you can get the voltage up to 13.5 volts if I remember correctly. However please be aware that these are switching power supplies and do create significant RFI which may interfere with your receiver. I know whenever I turn one on it pretty much wipes out the 80m band and still casues significant noise on 40m. If you are running in the VHF bands I don't think you will have a problem.
Dave
376782 is offline Find More Posts by 376782
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 07:09 PM
Registered User
FTA_FTW's Avatar
Joined Apr 2011
403 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjinguy View Post
I believe you have the server model number wrong for this PS. The PS in PowerEdge 2650 is a 500W unit. Those units are very common on eBay and such. The unit you describe here sounds like a PowerEdge 2850 PS, which is indeed rated at 700W, or 12V 57A. The model number is NPS-700AB. Your pin-out works great on this unit. I have put together a how-to on my site.
https://sites.google.com/site/tjingu...-tos/server-ps

Hi,

I have the same power supply but am totally confused on what to solder. Can you please assist me with a quick simple how-to please? I just want to know where to solder my + and - wires.

I found this link too but am still confused on how to locate the + and -

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=513
FTA_FTW is offline Find More Posts by FTA_FTW
Last edited by FTA_FTW; Jan 13, 2012 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 08:57 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hello FTA_FTW.

First you have to connect pins A1 and B6 to pin B1 to turn the power supply on.
PB1,PB2 and PB3 are ground output.
PB4,PB5 and PB6 are +12v output.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 03:14 PM
DSW
Registered User
United States, FL, Oviedo
Joined Mar 2005
24 Posts
Hi All,

I may have missed it in my review of this tread, but can anyone provide some guidance on what pins to connect to power on the PS?
DSW is offline Find More Posts by DSW
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 04:24 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,839 Posts
Try using the Search this thread tool. I entered DPS 1200 and got this one and several others

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=888
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjinguy View Post
I believe you have the server model number wrong for this PS. The PS in PowerEdge 2650 is a 500W unit. Those units are very common on eBay and such. The unit you describe here sounds like a PowerEdge 2850 PS, which is indeed rated at 700W, or 12V 57A. The model number is NPS-700AB. Your pin-out works great on this unit. I have put together a how-to on my site.
https://sites.google.com/site/tjingu...-tos/server-ps
FWIW .. if you replace the 1K voltage adjust trim pot with a 5K pot, you can get the output up to 13.7 ish volts DC before the overvoltage protection kicks in .. I needed to do this to power my Ham Radio Equipment .. You could make the pot an external on .. and adjust the charge voltage ..

Laters ..

Randy - N2CUA
N2CUA is offline Find More Posts by N2CUA
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 10:35 PM
DSW
Registered User
United States, FL, Oviedo
Joined Mar 2005
24 Posts
Got it to power on with 12.30v output.
Connected 33, 36, 37 to negative through two 560 ohm resistors.
DSW is offline Find More Posts by DSW
Last edited by DSW; Mar 13, 2012 at 07:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 03:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
2 Posts
Artesyn 7000830 Pin out

Hi, does anyone have the pin outs for the Artesyn 7000830 PSU?

IBM P/N 74P4455 12V 56Amp

Searched all numbers and no joy...

Thanks
Biggles75 is offline Find More Posts by Biggles75
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 07:51 PM
Registered User
Long Island
Joined Apr 2007
99 Posts
IBM xseries 366 power supply

I just aquired a IBM xseries 366 power supply and the label says 100-127v input 12.2V/53.3A max output Then it says 200-240V input 12.2/106.5A max output. Does this mean that I can supply either 120 or 240V input without any modification to the power supply? I know on certain transformers they are multi-tap and there is a certain wiring combination depending on input voltage. Other than the different plug configuration on the power lead I have'nt read anything about modifing the power unit to the voltage that going to be used. I would hate to fry it if I put 240 to it.
dcala is offline Find More Posts by dcala
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 08:17 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,874 Posts
Yes. These are switching devices and can run on either input voltage automatically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcala View Post
I just aquired a IBM xseries 366 power supply and the label says 100-127v input 12.2V/53.3A max output Then it says 200-240V input 12.2/106.5A max output. Does this mean that I can supply either 120 or 240V input without any modification to the power supply? I know on certain transformers they are multi-tap and there is a certain wiring combination depending on input voltage. Other than the different plug configuration on the power lead I have'nt read anything about modifing the power unit to the voltage that going to be used. I would hate to fry it if I put 240 to it.
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 08:47 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
Yes. These are switching devices and can run on either input voltage automatically.
+1

That is why they are called switching power supplies.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 09:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 01:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 05:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 03:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 03, 2002 12:31 AM