SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 01, 2011, 01:59 PM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahhoo View Post
I managed to get the HP 406421-001 337867-501 PS, like the one stated in the first post that started this thread. I bought the PS from US and I live in Malaysia. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any plug/wire that can fit the PS. I am referring to the wire that goes from the PS to the wall AC socket..any help would be much appreciated...
You're looking for a C19 cable.
sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 01, 2011, 02:05 PM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
I had put binding posts on my first supply, but I'm wondering if there are higher current equivalents that anybody is aware of? Binding posts are convenient, but they don't make them with an amperage rating higher than 30A. I'm not sure how they come up with this 30A rating. Deans connectors and large powerpoles, etc, are nice, but with the 'blade' connectors on these supplies, it makes sense to have a fixed mounted connection point to keep stress off the blade connectors (and I'd hate to put deans, anderson pp's, etc, on everything I want to attach).

Closest thing I can come up with is a terminal block.... I'm having a hard time imagining a 30A binding post melting or something on 100A w/ a non continuous duty cycle.
sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2011, 08:07 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hey ciesin,

(for your DPS-800GB) try connecting ground to each pin through a 1k resistor.

The pin that raises the voltage should be the needed remote sense.

Then connect that pin that the +12v DC out.

This might work for you.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2011, 08:47 PM
Registered User
Near Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Joined Dec 2004
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hey ciesin,

(for your DPS-800GB) try connecting ground to each pin through a 1k resistor.

The pin that raises the voltage should be the needed remote sense.

Then connect that pin that the +12v DC out.

This might work for you.
Tried it with a 300 ohm resistor. The voltage rose from 12.3 to 12.45 but when tied to +12 the supply went to zero. Load was only a 10 ohm resistor (1.2 amps)
376782 is offline Find More Posts by 376782
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 07:52 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hey 376782,

Did you also try to load the DPS-800GB while the voltage was raised?
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 08:02 AM
Registered User
Near Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Joined Dec 2004
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hey 376782,

Did you also try to load the DPS-800GB while the voltage was raised?
Yes I did. I put another 10 ohm resistor in parallel and the voltage still dropped approximately 200 mv.
376782 is offline Find More Posts by 376782
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 09:32 AM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined May 2006
6,407 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkysko View Post
I had put binding posts on my first supply, but I'm wondering if there are higher current equivalents that anybody is aware of? Binding posts are convenient, but they don't make them with an amperage rating higher than 30A. I'm not sure how they come up with this 30A rating. Deans connectors and large powerpoles, etc, are nice, but with the 'blade' connectors on these supplies, it makes sense to have a fixed mounted connection point to keep stress off the blade connectors (and I'd hate to put deans, anderson pp's, etc, on everything I want to attach).

Closest thing I can come up with is a terminal block.... I'm having a hard time imagining a 30A binding post melting or something on 100A w/ a non continuous duty cycle.
You might find this post useful: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=323

Checkout these binding posts, available in 50A and 80A ratings: http://madelectronics.com.au/shop/in...x&cPath=76_124
kgfly is offline Find More Posts by kgfly
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 06:02 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,865 Posts
And for Perth, Sydney and Melbourne, Altronics also now have these heavy duty binding posts in store.

http://www.altronics.com.au/index.as...pg=3&sort=code


Quote:
Originally Posted by kgfly View Post
Checkout these binding posts, available in 50A and 80A ratings: http://madelectronics.com.au/shop/in...x&cPath=76_124
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 07:00 PM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined May 2006
6,407 Posts
That is good to know, thanks John.
kgfly is offline Find More Posts by kgfly
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2011, 01:38 PM
Splash down counter: 10
xStatiCa's Avatar
United States, FL, New Port Richey
Joined Jul 2006
1,109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerxky View Post
Attachment 4012510
Use a hammer and a block of wood with a hole in it to knock these 3 standoffs out of the case. You'll probably have to beat the case back into shape a bit.

Attachment 4012511
Install a piece of hard thin plastic as a safety shield and to give the rubber feet something to stand on.

Attachment 4012512
Put 2 rubber feet on the bottom of the PCB. I had these from another project. The height is critical, too much and the case wont go back together, too little and the PCB can flop around.

My meter says there is no path between any of the 12v contacts and the case. There is connectivity between the power plug ground and the case. I think that means the DC ground has been successfully floated. I believe that's a first for the 580 PSU.
Do you have to do this to both power supplies or just one? I assume just one but not sure.
xStatiCa is online now Find More Posts by xStatiCa
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2011, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
1 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
This is a pinout for the IBM Bladecenter 39Y7352 2000w 200v-240v only PS.
All of the important pins are included.
Maximum output current is 164A at 12.2v. Voltage is adjustable up to 14.6v.
Since this PS doesn't have an internal fan, you MUST mount one externally.

This is a very cost-effective PSU.

Connect pin A6 to C2 to power up.
Connect pin A1 or A2 to D3 to adjust voltage up to 14.6v via potentiometer.
A 1kΩ pot in series with a 120Ω resistor works good.

This PS was mentioned earlier in this thread.
This also works with DPS-2500BB
nullet is offline Find More Posts by nullet
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 03:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
This is a pinout for the IBM Bladecenter 39Y7352 2000w 200v-240v only PS.
All of the important pins are included.
Maximum output current is 164A at 12.2v. Voltage is adjustable up to 14.6v.
Since this PS doesn't have an internal fan, you MUST mount one externally.

This is a very cost-effective PSU.

Connect pin A6 to C2 to power up.
Connect pin A1 or A2 to D3 to adjust voltage up to 14.6v via potentiometer.
A 1kΩ pot in series with a 120Ω resistor works good.

This PS was mentioned earlier in this thread.
hey xandrios thanks for posting the pinout do you have any information on pin
"B1" +12 current Share
trying to figure out how to parell two of these supplys to get more current
cheers
exercom is offline Find More Posts by exercom
Last edited by exercom; Sep 10, 2011 at 03:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 05:25 PM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Midrand
Joined Mar 2011
101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivid aka Homer View Post
Hi guys,

The DL380 on the otherhand, purrs softly, like a young kitten.

Vivid aka Homer
Do you have the pin-out on that DL380? I have one inbound.
Adventurer21 is offline Find More Posts by Adventurer21
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 01:24 PM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by exercom View Post
hey xandrios thanks for posting the pinout do you have any information on pin
"B1" +12 current Share
trying to figure out how to parell two of these supplys to get more current
cheers
As far as i know, all the delta supplies appear to be using intel loadshare for the current sharing. I tied together three 580 supplies and they output 225 amps collectively. It appears to go into the loadshare mode after the first load is applied ( i believe load has to be greater than 20 amps). Then they automatically assign a master and slave. For loads under 20 amps, i believe just the master supply handles the load. You can hear a difference in the fans when they go into current share mode. (theh stay in that mode until they are rebooted)

My blue wire is the current share that i tie together. I havent tried bumping up the voltage in current share mode, i left them at the stock voltage (12.8)

Each one does 75 amps, so getting 225 out without it tripping overcurrent is some good stuff.


Ignore the fact that im briefly drawing 30a from a 20a breaker. Do not attempt at home.

sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Last edited by sparkysko; Sep 14, 2011 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 12:43 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,344 Posts
OK First What's your load? A 12V starter turning over a 426 Hemi?

Second What on earth do you need 225A for?
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 09:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 01:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 05:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 03:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 03, 2002 12:31 AM