HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 28, 2011, 05:17 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,434 Posts
I've added these to the sticky.
John
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Pinouts for 3Y YM-2102ABR/AAR, YM-2102BBR, YM-2721ABR, YM-2821ABR, YM-2651BAR/CAR/CBR and YM-2451DAR/DBR PSUs.
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 29, 2011, 12:03 AM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hey sparkysko,

does the voltage on your DL580 G3 rise .05% or just .05v DC with the regulation mod?

It should be .05v. This slight rise was meant to compensate for any loss that the load wire may introduce at full current draw.
1.5k resistor and 6.8k resistor to bring up voltage and allow regulation. +12 v sense tied to 12v on the load. 0.05% voltage change at the load (I have RCA cable from load to power supply to bring 12v signal in)

It was 0.01 volts and the maximum rise I saw was 0.02 volt rise at the load.

I have no idea what the voltage was at the supply when I was doing this. I imagine it raised .3 volts or so at the supply. 0.05% at the load was awesomeness tho.
sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 09:56 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Cool.

If you wanted to go crazy you can replace the 6.8k resistor with a 6k in series with a 1k pot and adjust it so you get .000v deviation at full load.

Just a thought.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 12:21 PM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Cool.

If you wanted to go crazy you can replace the 6.8k resistor with a 6k in series with a 1k pot and adjust it so you get .000v deviation at full load.

Just a thought.
I don't understand the craziness here..

In my mind, hooking up the +12v remote sense to +12v at the load would be good. (Actually, I hooked up the +12v and sense, and left everything else alone, no 1.5k resistor, no 6.8k resistor). Supply would just shut down under varying load, with a static load, it would exhibit drop and not shut down.

The current share pin goes UP in voltage with load (as I believe you stated before, Xvolts =~ 10X amps). I don't understand why the 12v return line is getting fed this, but it makes sense that we're varying the output voltage by feeding the sense pin with a varying voltage that changes by the load (the current share pin)

That by itself would seem to be enough to regulate the loss in the wire fairly well (By using a pot in place of the 6.8k resistor and adjusting it to dial it in)

My question is: am I adding an unnecessary step by tying the +12v sense to the load via a jumper wire? Should varying values of the resistor where the 6.8k is be enough to offer 'good enough' regulation, or does the +12v sense wire always need to be used to have regulation?
sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 04:33 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
The +12 remote sense wire to the load is a good idea. Don't get rid of it!!

I was just saying that by combining both voltage sense methods.

1) The remote voltage sense method (the +12v jumper wire to load)

and

2) The local voltage sense method (the one I used)

we should be able to tweak the regulation to 0.00%.

I've been using 4 AWG wire on my DL580 G3 PS.

I get more of a voltage increase at the load with the +12v remote sense

jumper wire when I combine it with the local voltage sense method.

I would have to increase that 6.8k resistor to around 12k to compensate.

I'm guessing that you are using smaller gauge wires for the load.

You could probably use a slightly higher value than 6.8k. Maybe 7.2k or 7.5k.

A tweak-able local voltage sense should be able to compensate for load wire sizes.

Using a pot in place of the 6.8k resistor should do the trick...
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Aug 29, 2011 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 05:23 PM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
Got it. You're tied into the current share in lieu of a sense jumper wire to the load. (although the two arent mutually exclusive)

Just another case of working smarter not harder! Its very clever. Since im doing several for friends, i think ill just add a pot to theirs rather than risk jumper wires coming loose and starting fires. Looks like a good place for audio taper pots or some 10 turns.
sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 05:32 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
You got it.

It seems that a value of 20k in lieu of the 6.8k does the trick for me.

I get 13.00v with no load and 13.00V at full load.

I think that if you omit the 6.8k altogether for your setup, u will get a voltage drop of .02v while still using the +12v sense jumper.

Still not bad.

I only use 10 turns.

And 2 heads are better than one. Nice!!!
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Aug 29, 2011 at 05:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 02:59 AM
Registered User
Polska, Zachodniopomorskie, Stargard Szczeciński
Joined Aug 2011
4 Posts
Hi jj604,

I have problem with Delta DPS800GB-A. I am not very familiar with forums of any kind. I have created a post #894 but it got completely "lost" among other posts on totally different topic. Could you please help me and give advice what should I do in order to get a little bit more interest of other users on my problem? Thanks in advance. Regards. ciesin
ciesin is offline Find More Posts by ciesin
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 04:37 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,434 Posts
Can anyone help with a DPS800GB?

See ciesin's question below.

Anyone got any experience with this particular PS?

I have added it to the "seeking help" post on the sticky as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciesin View Post
Hi all DPS800GB users. I have tried shortening pins 30, 31 and 34. +12V started but not at full capacity. The output voltage is quite stable up untill 16amps. When 16 amps is exceeded the voltage drops to 6V. Other outputs (+3.3V, +5V work at full capacity). I have two PSUes and they both work the same. They are not brand new so am not sure if they are 100% OK. Has anyone succeded to draw 80A using Borlax method?
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 07:07 AM
Registered User
Near Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Joined Dec 2004
382 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciesin View Post
Hi jj604,

I have problem with Delta DPS800GB-A. I am not very familiar with forums of any kind. I have created a post #894 but it got completely "lost" among other posts on totally different topic. Could you please help me and give advice what should I do in order to get a little bit more interest of other users on my problem? Thanks in advance. Regards. ciesin
I also would like some help. I have managed to get the supply running with previous info on required jumpers but am not able to get anymore than approximately 8 amps before the supply drops off to 2 volts. I suspect that remote sensing may be required but don't know which terminals are the voltage sensing to tie to the 12 volts.

Thanks,

Dave
376782 is offline Find More Posts by 376782
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 04:25 PM
Unshaven yokel
sparkysko's Avatar
Portland, Oregon
Joined Oct 2007
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 376782 View Post
I also would like some help. I have managed to get the supply running with previous info on required jumpers but am not able to get anymore than approximately 8 amps before the supply drops off to 2 volts. I suspect that remote sensing may be required but don't know which terminals are the voltage sensing to tie to the 12 volts.

Thanks,

Dave
I had the DPS-700, which I think is most similar. It had a 16 amp current limit on each rail. I'd ensure you have all the 12v rails tied together so you can combine the amperage..
sparkysko is offline Find More Posts by sparkysko
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 04:12 AM
Registered User
Polska, Zachodniopomorskie, Stargard Szczeciński
Joined Aug 2011
4 Posts
DPS800GB has only one multli double-sided +12V pin (pins 1-12;53-64) so can't be the case here.
ciesin is offline Find More Posts by ciesin
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 03:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
134 Posts
Adjusting voltage on Dell PowerEdge 2850

Flarssern or others,

did you figure out a way to adjust output voltage on the Dell 70000814? Mine only has 11.8V.
jotto is offline Find More Posts by jotto
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2011, 04:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
134 Posts
By the way, is this noise normal on a Dell 7000814? It doesn't come from the fan. It comes from the area next to the AC inlet.

http://jotto.livedrive.com/item/ceab...63a32bd5ec5941

Note: the sound is more pronounced in this video than in real. It is not so loud.

If I touch the heat sink to the right, the noise is reduced.
jotto is offline Find More Posts by jotto
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2011, 11:23 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
6 Posts
I managed to get the HP 406421-001 337867-501 PS, like the one stated in the first post that started this thread. I bought the PS from US and I live in Malaysia. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any plug/wire that can fit the PS. I am referring to the wire that goes from the PS to the wall AC socket..any help would be much appreciated...
yahhoo is offline Find More Posts by yahhoo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM