HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:28 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,557 Posts
Oh the fun we have. Fact is 3 Phase 220 is still only 220. In most areas 440 is only available for comerical usege ( businesses) and if you do not use enough electricity they charge an extra sur charge.

If you only have 220 single phase ( residential) in the US) you can purchase or build a single phase to three phase converter and they work well but if you are using equipment that has a reverse then you have to stop the motor before you can reverse it.


Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Last edited by everydayflyer; Oct 22, 2009 at 05:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:35 PM
Registered User
omnicomps's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
490 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant
Yeah just add the 3 phases together right?

BTW I have 7200V in my ack yard.
Wow that's a lot of volts )
Is that to run electric fence?

I have 220 in the shop. I still remember the first time I plugged a 110v sander into a standard 110v socket that some how had 220 ran to it.
I kicked that sander on and said,"wow this thing is really working today"!
I shut off the sander after about 2min of thinking to my self some thing is wrong. I changed out that socket so it doesn't happen again. hehe
omnicomps is offline Find More Posts by omnicomps
Last edited by omnicomps; Oct 22, 2009 at 05:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2009, 06:37 PM
ProgressiveRC
write2dgray's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Dec 2006
1,996 Posts
You guys re-inspired me, so I pulled out the old Dell DPS-500CB 502W supply (41.0A on 12V line) I bought on eBay a year ago and tricked her into working. It took some doing, and in the end it requires that a small load be present when the power supply is fired up. A plugged in charger will do fine, but if at any point the charger is turned completely off for more than a few seconds, the moment it is turned back on, the power supply will cut off.

No biggie, but it took me a while to figure out what was tripping this. Now I've got a 12V/41A supply...if I should ever need it.

For any that may stumble across it - what worked for me (it is a 6 column x 4 row grid), in the end I simply bent and soldered the three pins marked "Y" together:

N N N N N Y
N N N N Y N
N N N Y N N
N N N N N N

Cheers,
David
write2dgray is offline Find More Posts by write2dgray
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 12:45 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,148 Posts
Good one Dave, another to add to the list. Feathermerchant, how did you go with the 147 A monster?

Cripes, it's getting to the stage that we need a database of Server supplies with their various pin permutations.

John
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 06:36 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Been raining till today. Worked on plane repairs today.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 11:39 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
3 Posts
I just picked up a compaq ML530/570 PSU. any one have somewhere I can start to go about how to figure out what pins to connect to get it to power on?

I use to run a computer ATX power supply, but this seems more robust. and with ATX psu I just had to ground the green wire on the MB lead.

compaq is HP is i figure it would be similar.
devilchrist is offline Find More Posts by devilchrist
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 09:43 AM
Aerial Images of Texas
tashley's Avatar
The Texas Gulf Coast where hurricanes come to play
Joined Aug 2003
1,960 Posts
http://www.360tech.com/catalog/34811...d-p-42301.html
jj604, is this the same unit? The numbering is the same but it looks a little different than the one you showed in your original post.
tashley is offline Find More Posts by tashley
Last edited by tashley; Oct 29, 2009 at 12:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:21 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
For that price you can have 2 42A shipped and save $28
PM me if interseted.

Raining here again today so no outdoor testing.
I may have to buy a dryer plug so I can test indoors..
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 01:57 PM
Which shall it be, Passworthy?
Near Dallas, TX
Joined Jun 2007
2,484 Posts
Pretty sure this is the same supply:

http://compuvest.com/Desc.jsp?iid=1103998

Dave

(No idea what shipping cost is)

PS: I'm happy with the supply I got from Feathermerchant!
hancockdw is offline Find More Posts by hancockdw
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 03:40 PM
Aerial Images of Texas
tashley's Avatar
The Texas Gulf Coast where hurricanes come to play
Joined Aug 2003
1,960 Posts
Thanks for the tip Dave, that saved me some bucks. 47.62 including shipping. Schweet!
tashley is offline Find More Posts by tashley
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 03:49 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,148 Posts
Tashley and hancockdw - yes they are both the HP supply in this thread. If you go to post 4 I have given both sets of part numbers (I think the 406421-001 one is a stocking number as a spare).

Feathermerchant's advice is good though. I wouldn't be paying $US120 for one of these unless you really need the 100A capacity.

The picture on the 360 Technology site is incorrect (and the one on Compuvest is on it's side!). Greysonline in Australia do the same. They have one picture for server PS's which they use for everything they advertise.

John
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 04:08 PM
Aerial Images of Texas
tashley's Avatar
The Texas Gulf Coast where hurricanes come to play
Joined Aug 2003
1,960 Posts
Thanks, I want the power this p/s can provide and am tired of upgrading because I didn't buy enough power to begin with. At thirty two bucks and a little shipping I don't see how I can go wrong. Thanks for doing the thread on this btw.
tashley is offline Find More Posts by tashley
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 06:38 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Wel I can see how. I have bougt a few that I could not get to come on no matter what. Still $40 is not too much to spend on an experiment. I'm going to see if I can get 2 of my 42A supplies to run in series because my Duos support 24V. I'll be able to run 3 Duos all out off these 2 supplies.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 08:27 PM
Adam Gibson
xStatiCa's Avatar
United States, FL, New Port Richey
Joined Jul 2006
827 Posts
Thanks for this thread. I just ordered one from Compuvest for $47.62 shipped.

Only being 12v is a shame since the iCharger(and many others) need more than that for max output. I hope that I will at least get 278 watts from the 208B iCharger since I read from someone else on this board that 13.8v on the iCharger reduced output from 350watts to 300watts (about 12 watts lost per volt going by that).

That should give me 12.9A at 22v for a 6cell charge and I could almost run 3 iChargers at that rate with this supply.

For the price though I can live with the 12v reduced output from the iCharger.
xStatiCa is offline Find More Posts by xStatiCa
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 09:10 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
FWIW the Hyperion Duo loses about 10% capacity on 12V vs 24V.
How many amps is this power supply?
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM