HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 14, 2013, 03:34 AM
Registered User
Poland, Pomeranian Voivodeship, Kosakowo
Joined Feb 2013
1 Posts
Dps-800gb a

Hello.

Does anyone know how to successfully connect in series two DPS-800GB ?

Regards. Michal
mbruski is offline Find More Posts by mbruski
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:21 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Rydalmere
Joined Feb 2010
34 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbruski View Post
Hello.

Does anyone know how to successfully connect in series two DPS-800GB ?

Regards. Michal
In the sticky:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...2#post22537389

Cheers
Whitedg
whitedg is offline Find More Posts by whitedg
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 09:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
3 Posts
Power supply conversion question

I can't find a link for the
Dell PowerEdge 1850 Server Hot Swap Power Supply PS-2521-1D

Just the 1850 aa23300
What is the difference

Thanks
Crashman105 is offline Find More Posts by Crashman105
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:05 PM
Registered User
Malibu LXI's Avatar
United States, VA, Lynchburg
Joined Jan 2012
62 Posts
Dell NPS 730 AB PS in Series

I have been given a couple of these PS that came out of a server and am interested in hooking them up in series to supply 24V. I have looked and googled but can't seem to find out how to isolate the DC from ground on one of the units in order to do this the "safe" way. I am not really interested in isolating the cases--too much room for a problem.

Anyone had any success isolating the PCB??
Malibu LXI is offline Find More Posts by Malibu LXI
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:44 PM
Registered User
302 Z28's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined May 2009
203 Posts
Got a HP Proliant DPS-550CB power supply real cheap (free). It runs but I need a pinout diagram in order for it to output 12V. Can ayone help?

Thanks
Vince

Update: got the info I needed, it's putting out 12.30V now I just need to quite the fans a bit.

Vince
302 Z28 is offline Find More Posts by 302 Z28
Last edited by 302 Z28; Feb 18, 2013 at 09:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:56 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashman105 View Post
I can't find a link for the
Dell PowerEdge 1850 Server Hot Swap Power Supply PS-2521-1D

Just the 1850 aa23300
What is the difference

Thanks
Either I asked a really dumb question

Or I stumped everyone?
Lol
Crashman105 is offline Find More Posts by Crashman105
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:19 PM
Sky Pilot
still4given's Avatar
Victorville, CA
Joined Jun 2006
1,114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashman105 View Post
Either I asked a really dumb question

Or I stumped everyone?
Lol
It wasn't a dumb question. Hopefully someone who has dealt with these will see this and be able to help you. I've seen a post in one of the threads explained how to find the right pins but I can't find it right now. I'll keep looking. Hang in there.
still4given is offline Find More Posts by still4given
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:59 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,601 Posts
It's in this thread.

Post #570 from our saviour, xandrios.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=570

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by still4given View Post
It wasn't a dumb question. Hopefully someone who has dealt with these will see this and be able to help you. I've seen a post in one of the threads explained how to find the right pins but I can't find it right now. I'll keep looking. Hang in there.
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:05 AM
Reckless Driver
justpoet's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
10 Posts
Silly question. When dealing with PSOn and PSKill, if I want to make an on/off switch, should I only worry about PSKill (the short pin), or should I also switch PSOn? Will it be any issue if I switch both at once if the latter, or should it go in order (PSOn, then PSKill, for powering up)?

Or should I do neither and just switch the AC plug?

Granted, I still need to figure out the rest of the non-voltage pins, but I'm thinking ahead for both convenience and safety of the PS and attached items.
justpoet is offline Find More Posts by justpoet
Last edited by justpoet; Feb 19, 2013 at 03:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:51 PM
Registered User
302 Z28's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined May 2009
203 Posts
Got everything working running all my chargers. Due to the PC board terminations of 12V power I had to solder wires onto the PC board traces. There are two 12V outputs on the board. One side I just used some wire and terminated them in banana plug sockets. The other side I had a spare 12V battery harness from a Battery Tender that I soldered to the PC board. This Battery Tender connection then feeds a box with six black & red female banana plugs. I felt that due to the PC board terminations soldering a banana plug socket directly to it would create too much stress on the solder joint.

I plan on following the 100amp instructiuons in this thread to build a bigger 24V power supply.

Vince
302 Z28 is offline Find More Posts by 302 Z28
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:17 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,343 Posts
302 Z28 - Um the BC-6 is NOT rated for 24V. Only 18V. I don't know about the other 2.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
3 Posts
dps 1200 fba

Well this weekend I tried my single dps 1200 fba psu at the track.I had my icharger set at 12.5 amp charge and my thunder power set at 6 amp.both of my 4s packs were mostly discharged(3.4v per cell)
The icharger ran fine.
The thunder power went into low input voltage cutoff.
The thunder power has input voltage selection,and was set for 12.3 volts
I reset to 11.95v and it ran ok.
I noticed under this 19 amp load,voltage out of supply was only 12.17volts.
I really wanted more voltage,somewhere around 14.8 would be nice.Any way to increase the psu's output voltage?24v would be fine on my icharger.but the thunder power has max input voltage of 18v.
any info will help
dazeeman is offline Find More Posts by dazeeman
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:15 PM
Registered User
302 Z28's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined May 2009
203 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
302 Z28 - Um the BC-6 is NOT rated for 24V. Only 18V. I don't know about the other 2.
I know I am planning on getting rid of the BC6 and getting one of the Ichargers.

Vince
302 Z28 is offline Find More Posts by 302 Z28
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:09 PM
Registered User
Sunny California
Joined Sep 2002
71 Posts
Hey there electronic gurus....does anyone have a pinout for this model? I see different numbers, so I am not sure which one it is..... I did take some readings when it was plugged in, but could never figure out how to get the darn thing to turn on....any ideas? thanks guys.



Hydroman is offline Find More Posts by Hydroman
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:51 PM
Registered User
302 Z28's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined May 2009
203 Posts
Just guessing the two big lands to the right are your 12V positive and negative. On the left side I would try a jumper from land two to four then to GND. See what happens, you cant damage it.

Vince
302 Z28 is offline Find More Posts by 302 Z28
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM