SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:16 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2011
72 Posts
Actually it's the same eBay seller where you got yours.
I just looked through all the stuff he is selling and found this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/300726451918...84.m1439.l2649

Danny


Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
So you going to tell us where in case anyone else wants one?
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:19 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2011
72 Posts
I asked another eBay seller about the max Amp rating of these binding posts at 30V DC.
They look nice, I'm hoping for 30 A.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:AAQ:US:1123

Danny
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:05 AM
I think I'm inverted. Maybe.
acetech09's Avatar
United States, CA, Pacifica
Joined Apr 2012
1,509 Posts
Just recieved my PSU today. Seeing the 12v 102A rating is a beautiful thing... And, for $16 and free shipping, I can't complain . I'll get to modding it tonight.
acetech09 is offline Find More Posts by acetech09
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 01:35 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2011
72 Posts
Hmm, I'm so annoyed.
Picked up my 2 x 2 PSU's from my friends house today.
In stead of 2 870W DL580 and 2 1300W DL580 PSU's, the company send me 4 870W DL580 PSU's.
Now I have to ship 2 back and wait another 2 weeks before I fly to LA again to pick them up.
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Last edited by Remklep; Sep 25, 2012 at 02:07 AM. Reason: spelling.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 01:56 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,362 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
So it arrived today and works a treat. I got the 40V, 50 Amp model.
Thanks for the review, John
I ordered one for my lead battery trolley.
I will try to use the relay output to switch off the outputs, and the meter itself, to avoid over discharge of the battery.

Fred
flarssen is offline Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:03 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2011
72 Posts
I just returned home with the 2 ESP114A PSUs and hooked them up to mains 220V.
Both powered up and the green light blinked, after shorting the enable and on/off to ground I had 12.02V, 5.02V and 3.32V output.

I opened up one of the PSUs and cut the island where on other PSUs R381 is located.
I tested with my Voltcraft DVM and confirmed there is no connection between AC-ground and DC-ground.
Also no connection between case and DC-ground.

If I understand this correctly, the PSU is now ready for connecting in series with an unmodified PSU.

Do I need to electrically connect both cases together?

Thanks, Danny
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 05:25 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Sounds like you're good to go Remklep.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...93&postcount=4

You don't need to electrically connect both cases together.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 11:24 AM
Lipo Power
BrushlesHeaven's Avatar
Joined May 2009
301 Posts
PS-3601-1C-ROHS the newer version of DPS-600

Would you like to get 13,55 Volt under load?
Have a look at the picture....
I was testing it pooling 20 amps and no problem....
Voltage drop under load to 13,4 Volt...
BrushlesHeaven is offline Find More Posts by BrushlesHeaven
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 05:33 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,343 Posts
That model also has the temperature controlled fan. It is more difficult to isolate the output for use in a 24V setup.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 11:51 PM
Lipo Power
BrushlesHeaven's Avatar
Joined May 2009
301 Posts
Why would that be?



Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
That model also has the temperature controlled fan. It is more difficult to isolate the output for use in a 24V setup.
BrushlesHeaven is offline Find More Posts by BrushlesHeaven
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:02 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,343 Posts
If you ever isolated one then the other, you would see what I mean. It takes me about twice as long to do one as the other. The boards are different. I think there must be significant design differences in the 2.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 09:56 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2011
72 Posts
I finally had time to hook up my 2 870W DL580s in series.
It all works and I get 24 V, but between the non-touching cases I measure 6 V AC.
Is this normal, and even more important, safe to touch?

Danny
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 01:39 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,343 Posts
If both cases are grounded you should get 0V. Check your power cords to see if they have the grounding prongs.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 01:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
17 Posts
hi all,

no more infos for running 12v PSU

Compaq ESP 117 model DPS 600 CB A

many thanks for help

laurent on2vhf
on2vhf is offline Find More Posts by on2vhf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:50 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2011
72 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
If both cases are grounded you should get 0V. Check your power cords to see if they have the grounding prongs.
I checked and they do.
With both plugs in an earthed power socket, with the power of by a switch, I checked continuity between both earth prongs on the PSUs. According to the beep of my DVM it's ok.
Also I tried to see what happens when both cases touch and measured the voltage at the prongs, they drop from 24V to 21V.
Something is not quite right.
I also measured the voltage between the earth-prong on another socket and both cases, each has about 3 V AC to earth.

Very strange.

Danny
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 09:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 01:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 05:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 03:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 03, 2002 12:31 AM