HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:31 PM
I think I'm inverted. Maybe.
acetech09's Avatar
United States, CA, Pacifica
Joined Apr 2012
1,509 Posts
Wow. That is the same supply. I'm probably going to order one.

I've replaced fans in PSUs before, and unless this case is designed not to be opened (doubt it), replacing it with some higher-end equal-CFM-but-less-noise fans shouldn't be too much of a challenge.
acetech09 is offline Find More Posts by acetech09
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:41 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
The tach pulses from the fans need to remain above 155 Hz or the PSU will not run.

You can only slow them down to a certain degree.

The proprietary fans in this 1300w PSU seem to be of very high quality. It might be hard to replace them.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:42 PM
I think I'm inverted. Maybe.
acetech09's Avatar
United States, CA, Pacifica
Joined Apr 2012
1,509 Posts
Fans are proprietary? ugh... Either way, I can build a little sound insulation box for it and toss it under the desk .
acetech09 is offline Find More Posts by acetech09
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:44 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
That also works...
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:47 PM
Registered User
ttabbal's Avatar
United States, UT, Herriman
Joined Jan 2012
2,119 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
The tach pulses from the fans need to remain above 155 Hz or the PSU will not run.

You can only slow them down to a certain degree.

The proprietary fans in this 1300w PSU seem to be of very high quality. It might be hard to replace them.
Could one feed a pulse train in from something like a basic 555 circuit to keep it happy?
ttabbal is offline Find More Posts by ttabbal
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:49 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Yup. It's already been done.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1071

If you want to do it on the cheap then just use an old socket 7 or 370 cpu fan to get the needed tach signal.

You can run the little fan directly off of the 12V. Then slow down the main fans as much as needed.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Sep 15, 2012 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 12:50 PM
I think I'm inverted. Maybe.
acetech09's Avatar
United States, CA, Pacifica
Joined Apr 2012
1,509 Posts
Welp. I'm ordering that power supply... and now gotta buy a good charger to keep up with it
acetech09 is offline Find More Posts by acetech09
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 11:18 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Does anyone have any experience with this dual display DC panel meter or anything similar ? They are inexpensive and look very interesting.

They can display voltage, current, power, capacity and time. Can also be expanded for higher currents via external current shunt.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC5-40V-20A-...item4604b15eae
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Sep 16, 2012 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 05:21 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,498 Posts
Neat find.

The 50Amp version looks particularly useful. Has a decent external shunt and connectors which you could mount separately. $24 delivered from this guy.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/50A-DC8-40V-...-/300747509526

There's some good detail on it in the User Manual - you need to be flexible with the English.
I have attached it as a pdf.

This more expensive vendor shows more details.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Digital-V...ht_6034wt_1165

John


Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Does anyone have any experience with this dual display DC panel meter or anything similar ? They are inexpensive and look very interesting.

They can display voltage, current, power, capacity and time. Can also be expanded for higher currents via external current shunt.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC5-40V-20A-...item4604b15eae
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Last edited by jj604; Sep 16, 2012 at 06:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 06:38 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Even better.

It looks like the single active component on the extension board drives the external cut off relay.

The base models seem to be very hackable. New toys are always good to find.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 07:02 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,498 Posts
Yep. Looks like a simple single transistor switch plus a damping diode across the relay coil on the external board.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Even better.

It looks like the single active component on the extension board drives the external cut off relay.

The base models seem to be very hackable. New toys are always good to find.
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 07:59 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,498 Posts
Well this guy charged me $24 including shipping for the 50Amp version and had posted it within an hour of me placing the order!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...E:L:OU:AU:3160

Let you know if it arrives OK and what it looks like.

John
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 10:35 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
AWESOME !!!
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 12:11 PM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
514 Posts
I have an idea for these PSUs, but need some input first. I wanted to make a Y-connector with an in-line on/off switch for the two PSUs run in series. I searched EVERYWHERE online to find such a device that can handle the level of current needed, but I do not think it exists. I cannot even find a cost effective plastic case to put a switch on and build my own. Well, to make a long story short, I got a quote from a company that does custom plastic enclosures for things like this and they can do it for a reasonable price, but I would need to order in bulk to make it worth the money (if I bought just one it would cost about $500!). Soooo, I was wondering if you all think there would be any interest out there for such a device if I were to say order a hundred or so, or would I be throwing my money away? Note: I would fully test the power cord under full load with the dummy load that I made to make sure it can fully handle the current. I will probably use 14 gauge computer power cords for the AC power. It would be a Y-connector that doubles as an on/off switch. The on/off switch will light up to indicate when the unit is turned on. I could probably sell them for about $20 which would include everything, the on/off switch Y-connector power cord and all. I think it will be pretty slick, what do you guys all think, yes, no, maybe…?

Here is a picture of what I am thinking of…
jocanon is online now Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:48 PM
I think I'm inverted. Maybe.
acetech09's Avatar
United States, CA, Pacifica
Joined Apr 2012
1,509 Posts
I think they make them already. They're called squids:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/16503272?a...l5=pla&veh=sem

The PSU sucks 12 amps and the one I linked blows at 15.
acetech09 is offline Find More Posts by acetech09
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM