SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 11, 2012, 09:18 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Yo Canucksparks.

Try this for your IBM 39Y7381 (Artesyn 7001374-Y000) PSU. It has been translated from a German site.

"But otherwise, if you have the NT, then you look back a pin-box at the top left is 1, bottom right is 24th It must be bridged 7 with 21 and 23 are bridged by 24, then you can simply turn on the power supply line 230"

Found here:

http://translate.google.com/translat...67299-p-1.html

It's from post 17.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 11, 2012, 09:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
3 Posts
Hello Xandrios

Thanks for that - unfortunately no joy. I'll keep looking.
OzMakka is offline Find More Posts by OzMakka
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 09:40 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Or try this Canucksparks.

Pin 1 to Pin 2
Pin 7 to pin 21
Pin 23 to Pin 24
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Aug 13, 2012 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 09:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
17 Posts
HelloThank you for the explanation,but el material use and where to place it?Thank youLaurent

hi, i am opening my PSU

and check the pot ? is white and glue blue ?
pse look pictures



Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hello on2vhf.

Connect the sense lines up backwards through a resistor or pot. This should raise the voltage.
on2vhf is offline Find More Posts by on2vhf
Last edited by on2vhf; Aug 11, 2012 at 12:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 01:08 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hey on2vhf.

Try this for the small pins on the outside.


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=599
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 07:38 PM
Fly it low.. and fly it fast!
Hit N Run's Avatar
United States, MA, Westport
Joined Nov 2011
1,787 Posts
Bestec Model: ATX-1956D Output rating 200W

Alright, so I found this thread and i'm loving the idea for an inexpensive power supply.

I dug out my old HP Pavilion Tower, and take out the power supply. According to the (nonexistent) wiring diagram I had to work with.... I saw a label on side of the power supply casing that said ....

Red wire: +5V 23A
Orange wire: +3.3V 10A
Yellow wire : +12V 12A
Black wire: Ground
Purple wire: +5VSB 2A
Grey wire: Power Good
Blue wire: -12V 0.8A

Based on that knowledge, I got it to the point of (yellow and black wires to power it on) (this power supply does NOT have a built in on/off switch)

And I used yellow and ground to power my lipo charger (HobbyKing Variable 6S)

According to the sticker on the casing, I should have 12V @ 12A.
When I power my lipo charger, all runs well..... until I pull a load over 1.5A charge rate from the power supply. It flickers a few times, and then shuts down completely. (both the power supply AND charger cut out completely)

I then have to remove the main power cable from the wall receptacle and then plug it in again for everything to fire back up. And of course the process repeats itself every time I try to charge any pack over about 1.5A

Is there a reason for this?

If my power supply is rated for 12V and 12A.... I should be able to charge a lipo battery at a very high rate (say 8A for example) without the power supply failing from over drawing, right???

One thing I also noticed before I even hooked it up to my charger, was that according to my wattmeter, I was only getting about 11.6V to begin with.

Would this be the cause?? I would imagine if I was charging a 2 cell lipo (8.6V fully charged) I wouldn't have the same problem because I would have more than enough voltage going into the charger.... where as a 3 cell (12.6V fully charged) is MORE than the voltage coming from the power supply, so its too much for the power supply to handle... am I right?
Hit N Run is online now Find More Posts by Hit N Run
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Hit N Run; Aug 11, 2012 at 08:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 03:18 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,783 Posts
Hit n Run, you have a PC power supply not a server supply. Totally different beast.

There is a ton of threads on how to make these ATX supplies work on the forums and elsewhere.

I suspect you need to load the 5V line as that is what these supplies use for regulation. Pulling a large current from the 12V line with 5V unconnected is probably causing the supply to shut down as it interprets it as a fault.

The voltage into the charger that the power supply has to deliver is not a function of what your LiPo voltage (load) is. The charger converts the voltage up or down from the 12v supply. That's how it works.
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 07:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
17 Posts
Hi Xandrios,

many thanks for info ...

but not undesrtand this info, sorry i am not a electrice man hum hum

i am only 2 pôle 5.93 Volts , is possible joint 2 x 5.93 égal 11.86 volts is ok for mee,
but is possible ????

many thanks for help

regards

laurent

Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hey on2vhf.

Try this for the small pins on the outside.


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=599
on2vhf is offline Find More Posts by on2vhf
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 02:09 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
You can't sum voltages together because they share a common ground.

Try connecting pin C5 or pin D5 to ground.
Try connecting pin C5 or pin D5 to +12V.

If either are sense lines then one of the combinations will kick up your voltage.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 10:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
9 Posts
IBM 39Y7381 (Artesyn 7001374-Y000) - Works !

Many thanks, Xandrios.

I've re-drawn the pin-outs with shorting-links' info for reference.

I have an unusual problem, though.
Two PSUs (IBM 39Y7381 and DPS-2500BB) blew-up in my face (on no-load) after working for a while on load. I've narrowed-down the cause to a bad Earthing. Neutral to ground is showing ~ 18VAC !!
I'm getting it corrected today.

Thanks again.
Canucksparks is offline Find More Posts by Canucksparks
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 07:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
3 Posts
Compaq ESP 105 Series PSU (same as HP PS6301-1)

Anyone know the pson and pskill pinouts for this psu? I know its only small at 275 w, but should do my needs.
Thanks
stevew1 is offline Find More Posts by stevew1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 09:31 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Try this stevew1.

All "remote sense" pins to the corresponding outputs and GND:
46with42, 45with 47, 64with66, 63with59
Interlock to GND: 26with16
Then connecting 25with any GND the PSU fires up.

http://www.electronicspoint.com/poss...h-t117087.html
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Aug 13, 2012 at 10:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 01:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
3 Posts
Thanks Xandrios, I'll give it a try tonight/tomorrow.
stevew1 is offline Find More Posts by stevew1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 07:23 PM
Registered User
Russian Federation, Tverskaya oblast, Tver
Joined Aug 2012
4 Posts
Hi Guys
Sorry to squeez in here but would you know the pinout HP ML350 power supply PS-3701-1? I have one and would like to use it with my chargers....
Thanks
Peter
ppi1 is offline Find More Posts by ppi1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 06:18 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
3 Posts
Compaq ESP105 Series

With a little trepidation as I'm not an electronics man, I followed the instructions and it all works great. Many thanks again Xandrios for pointing me in the right direction.
stevew1 is offline Find More Posts by stevew1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 09:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 01:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 05:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 03:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 03, 2002 12:31 AM