SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 07, 2012, 01:26 PM
Registered User
United States, MN
Joined Feb 2011
4,374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba Gump View Post
Here they are up and running in series and was able to float the grounds on them. Did the pot mod and had the single one up to 13v and a 30 amp load on it no problem. Here is a pic of a 40 amp load on them, the second pics what I'm planning on setting up with them a 2600watt setup so I can run a pl8 and pl6 maxed out all day.
Hope you have a good AC supply to power that because that's more then any 110V circuit in most US houses have.
grimbeaver is offline Find More Posts by grimbeaver
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 07, 2012, 01:29 PM
F3P, Slap, IMAC, Helis
Joined Jun 2007
286 Posts
Yea I will be running a 3000 watt genny
Bubba Gump is online now Find More Posts by Bubba Gump
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 01:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Connect PS On and PS Kill to ground to power up.

If you get an orange light and no +12v power then go to this post for instructions.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=686

These are solder points to disable the Over Voltage Protection (OVP) on the Delta DPS-700EB PS.

Just solder a short wire across the two components highlighted in the picture.

They reside under the white cover on the rear side of the DC-1749 daughterboard.

Be sure to solder quickly as these are small components.

Voltage can be controlled externally by using a 1k or 5k potentiometer

between pin #63 (12VS) and ground.

Maximum voltage will depend on the individual PS.

It will be somewhere from 14.8v to 15.2v.

I suggest staying below 15.0v to keep everything within spec.

You may also set the internal voltage control trim potentiometer (at bottom of daughterboard) to maximum(counterclockwise) after modification is made.

I've tested this with my PS at 15.0v with a 65A load where OCP kicks in.

Over Current Protection (OCP) circuit still works with this mod.

This is just one method to disable the OVP. I opted not to remove any components.

And as always do this mod at your own risk.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hello mige0.

For the DPS-700EB mod, I just shorted the corner non-inverting input of the LM339 to ground. The DPS-750EB has a similar setup. Just look for the same smd diode. It will connect to the same pin. Shorting this pin to ground with a 1k resistor should allow you to increase the voltage to around 14.8v.




Great advice Xandrios, thanks a lot !

As you can see, the layout is different (diodes are elsewhere), but at least the capacitor you pointed at as GND was where it should be.


To turn the internal voltage pot fully counter clock wise was needed. Was able to go up slightly past 14V with the external pot, just as needed - not tested any higher.
The front side layout of the daughter board is more or less unchanged.

edit
SMD equipment needed
mige0 is offline Find More Posts by mige0
Last edited by mige0; Aug 07, 2012 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 03:09 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Awesome job mige0.

You should post a link to your results in this thread :

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1292514
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2012, 06:37 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canucksparks View Post
Help !!

I have an 'nos' 09L4299 IBM Power Supply - originally used in an IBM 7133-D40 (among others), Could not find any information other than the 7133-D40 manual - which is pretty much useless for our purpose .

It has a 9-Pin D connector in the front - supposedly for remote power control. From the drive manual I reckon only 4 pins are used in the 9-Pin D, because the other end of that link cable, I suppose, has a 4-Pin mini-Din.

The Delta p/n is: D0009245/01

Thanks,
Sparks
Here is how I got to turn on the IBM 09L4299:

looking into the 3x8pin connector situated between power contacts on the back side, connect pins 6 and 7 (counting from left) in the top row to the GND (case / power contact 1 / power contact 12) via a resistor (tested with 270Ohm).

You get +12.4V on power contacts 3,5,7, the corresponding "-" is NOT the GND mentioned above but power contacts 2,4,6.

You get +5.1V on power contacts 8,10, the corresponding "-" is NOT the GND mentioned above but power contacts 9,11.
Baltazar_bb is offline Find More Posts by Baltazar_bb
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2012, 07:40 PM
Registered User
kungrc's Avatar
Suphanburi Thailand
Joined Jul 2009
7 Posts


Cisco 7300-PWR-AC Power Supply

Please tell me how to adapt this model it.

Thank you.

I'm not a language.
kungrc is offline Find More Posts by kungrc
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2012, 07:59 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Maybe you can try this.

It has the same connector. Sony APS-111 PSU

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...63&postcount=4
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2012, 10:40 PM
Registered User
kungrc's Avatar
Suphanburi Thailand
Joined Jul 2009
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Maybe you can try this.

It has the same connector. Sony APS-111 PSU

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...63&postcount=4
I have tried to do as you suggested it works.
Thank you.
kungrc is offline Find More Posts by kungrc
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:39 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baltazar_bb View Post
Here is how I got to turn on the IBM 09L4299:

looking into the 3x8pin connector situated between power contacts on the back side, connect pins 6 and 7 (counting from left) in the top row to the GND (case / power contact 1 / power contact 12) via a resistor (tested with 270Ohm).

You get +12.4V on power contacts 3,5,7, the corresponding "-" is NOT the GND mentioned above but power contacts 2,4,6.

You get +5.1V on power contacts 8,10, the corresponding "-" is NOT the GND mentioned above but power contacts 9,11.
Baltazar, thank you !! It worked !!
I brought it back from the surplus-dealer and tried it out last night. I used two 330E. One each from pin 6 and pin 7 connected to chassis-gnd. Did not dare short 6 and 7. Should I have shorted 6 and 7 and used only one resistor ? Well, it is working now. Only drawback is the cooling. Will figure out an optimum way to mount external fans.

Having given-up hopes on this psu, the dealer had given me 2x Channel Well Technology PSB350M-J3 as replacement(s). Not much data is available for this. However, I did figure out the pins/voltages/ps-on, etc.., and the 2x new PSUs are also working well now. Oh yes, these have built in fans, and the real-estate occupied on the work-bench is very small.

I've posted the details of the CWT psu here: PSB350M-J3
Canucksparks is offline Find More Posts by Canucksparks
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:58 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,611 Posts
Canuck, put a link to that post in the sticky thread here:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1292514

Thanks

John
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 11:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
9 Posts
IBM 39Y7381 (Artesyn 7001374-Y000)

Could someone please help me with information to start this psu ?
I connected a 1k resistor from ground to all the pins one by one without any success.

Thanks.
Canucksparks is offline Find More Posts by Canucksparks
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 04:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
17 Posts
hi,

for DPs 600 Cb A COMPAQ

yes psu is running now,

A6 and B5 + GND running, yessssssssss,

but only 5.93 v no more, 12v possible ?

bets regards

laurent on2vhf
on2vhf is offline Find More Posts by on2vhf
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 06:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
3 Posts
IBM x235

All - looking for a pinout for PSU with these identifying numbers:
ARTESYN 700830-Y002
IBM Part Number 39Y7343
IBM Spares Number 39Y7344

It's a 4x4 grid and 4 Blades.
Looked for a few hours on here and can't find it Thanks.
OzMakka is offline Find More Posts by OzMakka
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 07:42 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hello OzMakka.

The Artesyn 7000758-0000 PSU has the same pin and grid configuration.
Try connectin pin A1(bottom row 1st pin) to pin D3(top row 3rd pin) as shown here.
I'm guessing that pin A1 is shorter than the rest.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1207445
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Aug 11, 2012 at 08:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 07:48 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hello on2vhf.

Connect the sense lines up backwards through a resistor or pot. This should raise the voltage.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM