HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 18, 2009, 02:33 PM
Registered User
Rodders's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Jul 2004
1,194 Posts
Discussion
New toy....Alex (enigma)

Well its close to my birthday and they are back in stock, and Steve said I should buy one, so I have, lol.

Should be here in a couple of days

So I need servos, suggestion....?

I need to send a couple of CC125's back for repair. Need another lipo pack. Maybe a new spinner. Ill start with the 15x15 prop I have and upgrade later.

Rx pack, suggestions for that....? some of you use things like 650mah AAA packs? NiMH or NiCD?

My 1D motor will burn up on 3s wont it? so much room for batteries in this fuz but I have the wrong motor
Rodders is offline Find More Posts by Rodders
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 18, 2009, 02:57 PM
Needs to do 52 legs !!
jjmouris's Avatar
Verenigd Koninkrijk, Fareham
Joined Aug 2008
7,171 Posts
Rodders,

Nice buy!

Suggest you use either hitec HS-65MG on the flaps or futaba S3150 depending on your pckets. Both are very good.

For the ailerons and elevator i believe you only have room for 9mm servo's. Suggest you spend the money here and go for the Hyperion DS09AMD. They are incredible, no slop, metal and digital! Worth every penny!

For the RX side of things, try this. http://www.jethobby.com.sg/cgi-bin/e...2&idx=1&gid=18
or
http://www.velocity-rc.com/cgi-bin/v...on=show&pid=26

A search for Voltron voltage regulator might find you one in the UK.

Hook it up with 2S 350mah to 1000mah.

What 1D is that, 1506? You can run the 1509 on 3S. Maybe it's time for a 1509/1.5D/6.7 on 5S ?!

Joe

P.s. That RFM 15x15 prop is crap, it was hand made rather then by CNC. You need 14.5x14.5 or 15x16 or 16x17 if you want a true CAM prop.
jjmouris is offline Find More Posts by jjmouris
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by jjmouris; Feb 18, 2009 at 03:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Rodders's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Jul 2004
1,194 Posts
So lipo for the Rx is best now? Ill look into it!

Its the 1506.

I was looking at my prop blades today and yes, they dont look that exact!

A 1509/1.5D/6.7 on 5s would be nice, but , lol
Rodders is offline Find More Posts by Rodders
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:21 PM
Registered User
Rodders's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Jul 2004
1,194 Posts
Would I want to run the servos on 4.8 or 6v? how many amps would be sufficient for the regulator, I have found some on overlander with 5 amps, but the one you showed does 6amps.

Struggling to find those Hyperion servos in the UK!?
Rodders is offline Find More Posts by Rodders
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2004
1,163 Posts
It doesn't really matter whether you use a 5V or 6V regulator for the RX. 3A is also plenty for these type of models. I staleed 2 digital wing servos and only got 1A so in use they don't take much
David H is offline Find More Posts by David H
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:56 PM
Registered User
steveburns's Avatar
Chipping Norton, UK
Joined Jan 2005
760 Posts
Robotbirds for the servos.
I use a Flightpower 5A reg in mine and it comes with a failsafe switch. Plenty of room down the back of the fuz for the RX lipo, Reg,Rx and switch.

The flap servos are easy to get in but work best with the pushrods coming through the top of the wing.
Aileron servos are easy and these have the pushrods out the bottom.
The elevator servo is fun! Take your time on this one and if you get stuck just ask and I'll pull the covers off of mine and take pics.

One area worth spending time on is the motor mount, it wants to have plenty of glue area in the way of little notches around the outside (don't ask how I found that out).

I have posted my set up on the UK F5B site.


How about coming along to some comps? I reckon it would be good in the old seven cell class (whatever we are calling that now) and Martin would like someone to fly with!

Steve.
steveburns is online now Find More Posts by steveburns
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:57 PM
Registered User
steveburns's Avatar
Chipping Norton, UK
Joined Jan 2005
760 Posts
Oh yeah, I set my reg to 5.1 Volts and everything seems happy.
steveburns is online now Find More Posts by steveburns
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 04:09 PM
Registered User
Rodders's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Jul 2004
1,194 Posts
you have to chop the top of the wing to get the flaps hinged that way dont you? Is there not enough movement the other way. I hate chopping new stuff up, lol.
Rodders is offline Find More Posts by Rodders
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 04:28 PM
Needs to do 52 legs !!
jjmouris's Avatar
Verenigd Koninkrijk, Fareham
Joined Aug 2008
7,171 Posts
Rodders, no it won't work any other way. Steve's first install was so bad he had to change it over later on.

You only need to make a little cut (2mm wide and 10mm long max) in the wing to allow a thin metal rod to go through. The servo arm should point strait down. The flap horn should point up and the connecting hole should be above the hinge line or in front of it.

Am sure Steve will post you a picture.

With regards to RX power, you could use 2S A123 of the smaller 1100mah kind. They are more robust, probably live longer and crash proof.

A linear voltage regulator is a good plan. It means no problems with to much voltage to the servo's and enough voltage for the RX to stay allive. The problem with using Nimh is that they come off the charger with to many volts for the servo's and drop a lot of voltage when they are cold and under stress that could make life hard for the RX.

I use the Flight Power one also but i think the Voltron one potentially is a better solution.

Joe
jjmouris is offline Find More Posts by jjmouris
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My F5B saw tooth props
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 05:18 PM
Registered User
steveburns's Avatar
Chipping Norton, UK
Joined Jan 2005
760 Posts
Here's the link for the Servos Joe was on about. They are the same size as SD150's and will work for the ailerons and elevator. You could use a bigger servo for the aileron but that fin is oh so tight for space you'll need a 9mm servo.

I'll post some pics of my linkages soon.

Steve.
steveburns is online now Find More Posts by steveburns
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 05:38 PM
Tragic case
davidleitch's Avatar
Sydney Australia
Joined Feb 2002
5,875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjmouris
Rodders,


A search for Voltron voltage regulator might find you one in the UK.
The Voltron regulator is nice but a much lighter and smaller one, but still adequate is the Thunder tiger 3 am regulator.
davidleitch is offline Find More Posts by davidleitch
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 05:40 PM
Tragic case
davidleitch's Avatar
Sydney Australia
Joined Feb 2002
5,875 Posts
...
davidleitch is offline Find More Posts by davidleitch
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 06:41 PM
Speed King
MarkChinery's Avatar
London Heathrow, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Feb 2003
959 Posts
rodders,
If your not going for the digital hyperian servos but want an sd150 equivalent. A couple of the F5D flyers found the Protec B109's to be better than other versions of the same server.

Regarding the servos linking to the top of the aileron/flap here is a few picks which may help from my old Jibe.



MarkChinery is offline Find More Posts by MarkChinery
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 07:15 PM
f5b-uk
Mike Seale's Avatar
United Kingdom, Dorset
Joined May 2002
3,076 Posts
And if I've got this link correct it shows how I've done the flaps on my RW2b

Mike
Mike Seale is offline Find More Posts by Mike Seale
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 01:54 AM
Registered User
steveburns's Avatar
Chipping Norton, UK
Joined Jan 2005
760 Posts
And if you do want SD150's the cheapest place to get them is Phoenix Model Products , They still have them at 15 and Ripmax have just put the price up to 23
steveburns is online now Find More Posts by steveburns
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion new toy - enigma chris_b High Performance 1036 Dec 12, 2014 08:34 PM
New toy planes last weekend aeronutz Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 0 Mar 02, 2002 05:16 PM
My New Toy / Need to Modify! jdoan Electric Plane Talk 0 Nov 12, 2001 12:41 AM
new toy jbourke Life, The Universe, and Politics 5 Jul 08, 2001 01:36 AM
Lookin' for a new toy David Webb Parkflyers 2 May 15, 2001 07:22 PM