HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 14, 2009, 06:29 AM
Amsterdam
Joined Mar 2006
197 Posts
Discussion
First DLG Crash

OK We're sitting on a beautiful winter January afternoon, blue sky all around and almost zero wind, temp just above freezing in a nice big field with a new born Mini Fire Works DLG. I have been guiding sailplanes for about 30 years on and off, so plenty experience and plenty crashes in my bag, but this was unbelievable. A new plane and a new way of launching for me. First check the plane then the controls. Everything perfect. A gentle hand toss. Very long and flat glide and hands off at that even for the landing! I was very impressed. Hard hand toss. The plane zoomed up to about 30 feet and I circled around a few times and landed. Nice. OK now it's time to try my first ever discus launch. Having never done this sort of launch before I was very careful and thought do this first one gently with only a quarter or half turn. That I did and the plane zoomed directly straight up to about 100'!! WOW!! This works very well! Then it directly turned around in a nose dive straight for the ground while I tried every control possible to redirect the flight path with absolutely no change in anything except speed going higher. The thing went nose in the ground till the leading edge of the wing and the tail boom (carbon fiber) broke clean off after the wing. I immediately did a radio check and it came out perfect! I suspect Murphys law was at play here. Glued the thing back in place and went out flying the next day with no problems at all!!
Was it Gilbert's Law that said Murphy was an optimist??
Douglas Tarr is offline Find More Posts by Douglas Tarr
Last edited by Douglas Tarr; Feb 14, 2009 at 07:47 AM. Reason: Was intended for posting under Reasons for Crashing
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 14, 2009, 07:49 AM
Herk
Virginia USA
Joined Jun 2007
1,649 Posts