HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 30, 2014, 05:38 PM
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Oct 2000
251 Posts
Discussion
Alula too fast!

I'm an HLG beginner looking for diagnosis on my Alulua setup. Basically, I can't seem to get the bird to float the way it does in the videos. I've kept the model light with factory recommended components, minimal taping and no paint. CG is set right on the dimples. I'm using a momentary switch with a launch preset -- I can get it up to a reasonable height, but as soon as I release the switch the Alula loops and continues to fly quite fast. I'm maybe getting 20 second flights at the most, and I'm clearly flying through thermals rather than catching them.

Any thoughts?
gordonbw is offline Find More Posts by gordonbw
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 30, 2014, 07:23 PM
New Zealand, Waikato, Hamilton
Joined Jul 2011
791 Posts
check your neutrals ....sounds like you have slight down flaperons..... doesn't explain the loop though....

I'd launch and then play with the sub trims to get it to slow it down - remember where you are set now, adjust one way and see what happens, then do it again and do it the other way (if the first way doesn't work)
gtrbaby is offline Find More Posts by gtrbaby
Old Jun 30, 2014, 08:18 PM
United States, UT, Sandy
Joined May 2013
2,772 Posts
I don't use a launch mode for my Alula's. It is not easy to catch thermals with an Alula. I considered it a good flight on flat land if you get two turns in. Toss up at 45 then level out at top. Trim it to fly level at top.
elkski is offline Find More Posts by elkski
Old Jun 30, 2014, 09:20 PM
Throw it like you hate it
United States, CA, Castro Valley
Joined Apr 2007
3,079 Posts
Play with you CG. You may be running too nose-heavy. Take a few grams out and then re-trim. Rinse and repeat and time your flights. Do this late in the evening when the conditions are mellow. You should be getting about twice what you are getting in flight time.