New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 17, 2015, 04:47 AM
Find More Posts by Burakko
Joined Aug 2012
119 Posts
Question
Catamaran Sailboats

Hello. I wrote that I was a novice on the water. I wanted to build a boat RG65 JIF. I can not do only "bulbkeel". So I thought to circumvent this problem, build a catamaran. Traditionally, balsa and plywood. I can not find the plans. Many links on the internet but old and not active. Something on this shape.
Burakko is offline Find More Posts by Burakko
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 17, 2015, 07:20 AM
Find More Posts by tarmstro
RC Newbie with lots of ideas
Chile, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Stgo
Joined Dec 2012
446 Posts
Hi:

If you are a novice sailor, I would suggest to do a keelboat first. Catamarans are very tricky to handle, the biggest problem being they tip-off, and you will find yourself 90% of the time walking/rowing/swimming to recover it!

What are your restrictions on keelboats? Pond depth? There are keelboats for almost every pond!
tarmstro is online now Find More Posts by tarmstro
Old Jun 17, 2015, 07:27 AM
Joined Aug 2012
119 Posts
I do not know how to cast lead. A small apartment and a small child. As for the sailing I have experience in scale 1:1
Old Jun 17, 2015, 07:44 AM
Find More Posts by thorsail
Chicago , Illinois
Joined Jul 2008
1,016 Posts
Hello
on ebay, under "toys and hobbies" search "rc sailboats"
you will find pre-made keels from many production sailboats sold as parts.
can you use a pre-made keel for you boat ? they have many parts for RG65
type boats there also.
thorsail is offline Find More Posts by thorsail
Old Jun 17, 2015, 07:58 AM
Joined Aug 2012
119 Posts
It is too expensive. Maybe in the US it is cheap but for me too expensive. I build my models - not buy. In the opposite event, i bay a catamaran on eBay. Ready with transmitter. I ask again do you have a plans for catamaran ?
Old Jun 17, 2015, 08:12 AM
Joined Dec 2012
446 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burakko View Post