SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 28, 2013, 08:17 PM
Joined Sep 2013
78 Posts
Discussion
HELP: Verify my understanding: set up a TX/RX (Futaba T8J) w/ Naza M v1 (DJI Phantom)

Hi all,

I know there are tutorials on youtube on how to do this, but since I am new to RC, I'd like to learn and understand what is what instead of following a video blindly. I'd like to share my understanding of things and get corrected where I am making mistakes. Multi-rotors seem simpler than RC planes (probably because of those smart flight controllers) and I don't have the background of heli or RC planes, so I am starting from scratch.

As I understand it, a Naza-M has 8 individual channels (in PPM or SBUS, discrete connections or a smarter signal bus version). Those 7 channels are:

A: For roll control (left/right)
E: For pitch control (front/back)
T: For throttle control
R: For rudder control
U: For Control Model Switch
X1: For gimbal pitch control / For gain tuning
X2: For D-Bus(S-Bus/S-Bus2 compatible) / For gain tuning / For IOC switch
X3: ? - Not sure if that's a channel or an input for battery voltage measurements

Channel 1-4 (A,E,T,R) are your normal TX joysticks channels.
Channel 5 should be bound to a three way control mode switch (GPS / Attitude Mode / Manual Mode)
Channel 6 is for the gimbal pitch - though I don't understand why when the hidden DJI Receiver knob for Gimbal pitch control is mentioned, it's in association with the 7th Channel.
Channel 7 is the IOC switch, best on a three position switch with Off / Course Lock / Home Lock

I don't really understand the technique behind setting up failsafe via button press and not just signal loss. I think it has to do with channel mixing (one physically action triggering signal change on more than one channel?)

I hope some of you can help me confirm / modify my understanding of things.
gnapoleon is offline Find More Posts by gnapoleon
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 30, 2013, 05:55 PM