HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 16, 2012, 10:02 PM
United States, TX, Cypress
Joined Aug 2011
88 Posts
Discussion
Laser Cutters

This might not be the right forum if not let me know (NOOB). I am looking into buying a Laser engraver/cutter. does anyone have any experience with any. any tips, etc? I want to use it to cut balsa and light ply. the other question is would a cnc router work better? thanks for any help or insight..
bigdad1975 is offline Find More Posts by bigdad1975
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:12 PM
Scale Builder
United States, AZ, Litchfield Park
Joined Jul 2002
2,603 Posts
While both machines have their advantages I think the laser is more verstatile than the CNC router for the vast majority of what we do with model airplanes. I have been using a laser cutter for 10+ years now and I don't think I could go back to cutting out parts with a scroll saw / band saw/ router. They will spoil you very quickly. While I'm certainly no expert I would be happy to answer any questions you might have to the best of my ability.
Chad Veich is offline Find More Posts by Chad Veich
Old Apr 17, 2012, 12:29 AM
Joined Aug 2011
88 Posts
I am looking for suggestions on laser cutters. like brands and overall what has worked for people. it's not a cheap investment and I fiqured I would try and find out from people with real world use
Old Apr 17, 2012, 02:54 PM
Scale Builder
United States, AZ, Litchfield Park
Joined Jul 2002
2,603 Posts
Bigdad,