SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 11, 2009, 06:35 PM
Joined Dec 2007
57 Posts
Question
Lowes FFF removing film ?

I'm new to scratch work, and am just starting to work with foam. I have some of Lowes blue FFF; how do I remove the film that is on one side of the foam? In most cases the film is un-important, but in some places I would like to remove it.

Thanks,
Doug
doughere is offline Find More Posts by doughere
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 11, 2009, 06:39 PM
If it wasn't for the foam
PA
Joined Dec 2004
522 Posts
Just start peeling, using the tip of a knife blade to get things started. Some people like to roll it onto a pencil or dowel, but I haven't gotten that to work very well.

I've used packing tape to help the peeling, with some success. I haven't tried other tapes, maybe some are better or worse.

It takes a little effort, but it's not a big deal.
tduro is offline Find More Posts by tduro
Old Nov 11, 2009, 06:40 PM
My plans are in my blog
Kotzebue, Alaska
Joined May 2006
5,416 Posts
Peel it from a corner, and roll it off over a dowel, or a suitable round shaft.
Rusty-Gunn is offline Find More Posts by Rusty-Gunn
Old Nov 11, 2009, 06:47 PM
Mansfield, Ohio
Joined Feb 2009
20 Posts
Lowes FFF removing film

The best I can tell you is I remove the film by cutting out all of my pieces rather than trying to peel the entire sheet. I start removing the film starting at a corner and slowly peel the film up at a 90 deg. angle. Most of the time it lifts off fairly easily. I have read where others roll the film loose by wrapping around a pencil or round object. Hope this helps and I am sure you will hear from others as there are probably many ideas.
bostickt is offline Find More Posts by bostickt
Old Nov 11, 2009, 07:21 PM
Prop Buster Extraordinaire
Seattle
Joined Aug 2009
1,201 Posts
somewhere in the terabytes of RCG is a video some one did of how to do this. next we'll see a video of how to watch paint dry...