HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:37 AM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,227 Posts
Discussion
DX6, 6i, 7, 7s, 8

could any1 please explain what is the difference between these tx's?
which 1 is worth more, pricewise?

there is 1 thing in particular: as far as i know, the 7 has no telemetry, and you have to buy it extra. now the 7s seems to have it already.
perhaps guys like David T, ungn or freechip could help with it.
thanks
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2012, 04:48 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
885 Posts
First the obvious, 6,7,8 refers to the number of channels for each radio. Only you can tell us what you need for the models you fly.

The DX6 is long out of production and was replaced by the DX6i, the 6i was recently updated to support DSMX as well as DSM2. It has no ability to display telemetry data on the radio but could still be used with something like the STi.

The DX7 (if you can still find one) is the old model and no longer in production, it was replaced by the DX7S.

The 7S and the 8 both support telemetry displays on the radio but with the 7S you will not normally get the TM1000 and sensors in the package, but with the DX8 you usually do.

The 7S lacks a screen back light and has two position switches where the DX8 has mostly 3 position switches and does have a back light.

Check for the deals available from your usual sources as some retailers un-bundle the radios and offer lower prices for just the parts you need, others sell the special offers which come up from time to time and include multiple receivers so you need to look at the prices available to you to decide on the relative 'value'.

There are other differences, but that is a summary to get you started.
Telrin is online now Find More Posts by Telrin
Last edited by Telrin; Jun 28, 2012 at 08:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 06:39 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil alvirez View Post
could any1 please explain what is the difference between these tx's? which 1 is worth more, pricewise?
Considering all that you get programming, hardware and of course New In The Box content, the DX8 is worth more and most of the time if you don't need it all you can sell the extra and you may just end up with having paid less then the 7s.

Quote:
there is 1 thing in particular: as far as i know, the 7 has no telemetry, and you have to buy it extra.
The DX7 has no telemetry PERIOD. If you want to use telemetry not only do you need the telemetry module and sensors for the plane but you will need a way of reading it on the ground
Quote:
now the 7s seems to have it already.
DX7s has the telemetry receiving part already, you need the module and sensors for the plane(s)
Quote:
perhaps guys like David T, ungn or freechip could help with it. thanks
Feel free to PM anytime, get it feel FREE as in FREECHIP.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 07:16 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,328 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
The DX7 has no telemetry PERIOD. If you want to use telemetry not only do you need the telemetry module and sensors for the plane but you will need a way of reading it on the ground
WIth the DX7 and DX6i or any of the JR DSM transmitters, you can get telemetry using an STi module. There isn't any integrated into the transmitter, that's all.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,227 Posts
module

thank you guys.
Andy: what's the sti module, where can i get it (link) and $?
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 12:09 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,328 Posts
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...face-SPMTR1000
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 12:14 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
STi module is the device you attach to an iDevice - iPhone,iPad or iPod Touch 4th gen.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 01:12 PM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,227 Posts
input

thank you, gentlemen.
so, can some1 help with bringing a wider view?

so, depending what tx, what else i need (links) to add and $?
what options?
what do i get with them?
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; Jun 28, 2012 at 01:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 01:21 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
What 9 ch. tx?
Do you mean 8ch as in the DX8?
Here's a good place to start looking.
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM8800
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 01:31 PM
Registered User
Central California
Joined Dec 2006
2,674 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil alvirez View Post
thank you, gentlemen.
so, can some1 help with bringing a wider view?

if i get this 9ch tx, what else i need (links) to add and $?
what options?
what do i get with them?
By "this" 9ch do you mean a 9303 or 9503 JR? If so you will need an iDevice like an Ipod,iPhone,iPad with the STi app installed.You will also need the STi dongle itself to plug into the iDevice and a TM1100 or TM1000 to send data from the Rx to the telemetry dongle.

The system only works with radios operating with DSM2 or DSMX.

Also with the basic TM module package you get a temp sensor and a lead to attach for Flighpack voltage.Rx voltage is relayed by the connection from the Rx to the TM module.If you want any other data such as airspeed altitude g-force etc. you will need to purchase the additional sensors.
The x-bus that allows connection of advanced sensors is only available on the TM1000.The TM1100 only allows the basic data and you cannot connect advanced(x-bus) sensors to it.
aerocal is offline Find More Posts by aerocal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 01:53 PM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,227 Posts
update

Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
What 9 ch. tx?
Do you mean 8ch as in the DX8?
Here's a good place to start looking.
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM8800
sorry, i got mixed-up. see the text again. i corrected it. it should read:
so, depending what tx, what else i need (links) to add and $?
what options?
what do i get with them?
in other words, what do we get with each 1 of the tx's from horizon's?
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; Jun 28, 2012 at 01:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 01:56 PM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,227 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerocal View Post
By "this" 9ch do you mean a 9303 or 9503 JR? If so you will need an iDevice like an Ipod,iPhone,iPad with the STi app installed.You will also need the STi dongle itself to plug into the iDevice and a TM1100 or TM1000 to send data from the Rx to the telemetry dongle.

The system only works with radios operating with DSM2 or DSMX.

Also with the basic TM module package you get a temp sensor and a lead to attach for Flighpack voltage.Rx voltage is relayed by the connection from the Rx to the TM module.If you want any other data such as airspeed altitude g-force etc. you will need to purchase the additional sensors.
The x-bus that allows connection of advanced sensors is only available on the TM1000.The TM1100 only allows the basic data and you cannot connect advanced(x-bus) sensors to it.
i got mixed-up. please read my message again. i updated it. i meant:
so, depending what tx, what else i need (links) to add and $?
what options?
what do i get with them?
in other words, what do we get with each 1 of the tx's from horizon's?
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 02:09 PM
Registered User
Central California
Joined Dec 2006
2,674 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil alvirez View Post
i got mixed-up. please read my message again. i updated it. i meant:
so, depending what tx, what else i need (links) to add and $?
what options?
what do i get with them?
in other words, what do we get with each 1 of the tx's from horizon's?
You need to read the specs for each specific package carefully.
aerocal is offline Find More Posts by aerocal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 04:08 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,990 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerocal View Post
You need to read the specs for each specific package carefully.
Good advice.
There are quite a few different packages from Horizon, some with servos, batteries, etc. some without, etc. Then there are other suppliers who take the Spektrum packages and split them up so you can buy, for example, just the transmitter.
Which arrangement makes sense for you depends a great deal on what you want to use the radio for and whether you have any equipment to start with.
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2012, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,227 Posts
great advice

thank you gentlemen.
so much to learn.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Which Specktrum radio DX6,7 or 8? overmyhead Flying Wings 5 Mar 11, 2012 09:10 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 (not 6i) SOLD Pilot in MO Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Mar 10, 2012 07:59 AM
Sold Spektrum DX6 (not 6i) Pilot in MO Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Feb 15, 2012 10:11 PM
Discussion DX6/6i Elevon Mixing different? jpwkeeper Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1 Oct 12, 2009 07:16 PM
Discussion B50-7S+6,7:1 or Kira 500-26(or 30)+6,7:1 ? pabork High Performance 4 Sep 23, 2009 08:59 AM