Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 04, 2007, 12:02 PM
Joined Feb 2007
192 Posts
Discussion
Got Wings Can Fly (Xtwin related)

I have always been amazed by flying wings until one day I have decided to get some plan for one and gut one of my xtwin. The plan that I have choosen is a "chicky" flying wing (hope i got the name correct).

Sadly my modded classic trainer's has the strongest motor RPM. Thus, the innards are transferred to the wings that I made.

First was using balsa as material. It's my first attempt of model plane building, thus have no exp on how to estimate or guage if the material is situable in terms of weight and COG. Well, it flew only at the first 2 min after charge. Rest of the 8 mins or more, it's gliding just above ground like hovercraft. I considered it as a failed attempt and was utterly disappointed.

Three test flight to confirm it's a dud, I went back to the drawing board. Decide to use foam/depon to make another one. This time it's lighter. Went out to test and BINGO. It flew like an ace. It recover from turn fast. Superb gliding ability, center itself almost immediately after turning, climb on 1/2 throttle even during turn. Personnal opinion, it flew much better and more controllable comparing to Xtwin(sport)/AA(mono wing).

Love it.

Here are some pics, video will be uploaded soon once I get my friend to be cameraman.

Note, it's night flight ready. I can attach an led anytime to the little sockets I added near the two motors.
BlindSpot is offline Find More Posts by BlindSpot
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 04, 2007, 12:50 PM
Joined Mar 2007
19 Posts
Hi BlindSpot,sorry but im a young boy(french) i speak english very well :s i have just one question:What does it need like motor?and servos?and size of propeller? sorry for my english :s

bye
benji934 is offline Find More Posts by benji934
Old Mar 04, 2007, 03:30 PM
1 paycheck away from homeless
United States, KS
Joined Mar 2006
4,574 Posts