HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 14, 2011, 03:12 PM
Suspended Account
Prescott, AZ
Joined Jan 2011
2,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by leethetreeguy View Post
I may have read it and can't remember. What tx are you flying the msr with?
Me? DX7...
sviking is offline Find More Posts by sviking
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2011, 03:34 PM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
12,132 Posts
cool
leethetreeguy is offline Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 03:47 PM
Suspended Account
Prescott, AZ
Joined Jan 2011
2,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by leethetreeguy View Post
cool
Yeah, it's an okay radio. I've been missing some of the stuff on the Futaba 9ZHPS I had back in the day...
sviking is offline Find More Posts by sviking
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 04:05 PM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
12,132 Posts
I fly with a dx6i myself. I just learned something new on it today. I did not know that I could program how far the servo travels in either direction. I thought it was just a percentage of the whole. Whooo'd a thunk it? haha.
leethetreeguy is offline Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 04:13 PM
Suspended Account
Prescott, AZ
Joined Jan 2011
2,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by leethetreeguy View Post
I fly with a dx6i myself. I just learned something new on it today. I did not know that I could program how far the servo travels in either direction. I thought it was just a percentage of the whole. Whooo'd a thunk it? haha.
Be careful to not introduce any binding into the system by "overdriving" the servos. If you turn the ATV (adjustable travel volume) up beyond 100%, check that the servos don't grind or buzz at full stick throw. Also check for both servos interacting with each other at the corners of max stick throw (i.e. full aileron/elevator at the same time) and listen to the swashplate servos. Back off the ATV until that noise stops as you're mechanically limited at that point and not getting any more flight control throw anyway.
sviking is offline Find More Posts by sviking
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 06:01 PM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
12,132 Posts
Ok, I got it. Thanks.
leethetreeguy is offline Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 06:15 PM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,297 Posts
Good advice! Not only the servo throw but the swash binding are issues that you can tune around! And if you ever get to the vtail point you can actually compensate for the chip restrictions in your TX on the cheap vtails such as the one HK sells for $3.00 by setting your throttle up to 125%. Also, and this is the biggie that separates programmable TX's from all the rest. You can adjust your throttle curve. This is just huge as now you can setup the curve for easier landings, find your natural finger or hand position and adjust your TX to compensate. And also run different curves on how you want to fly that day. Outside flying you can run an aggressive curve for sport flying that ramps up quickly, inside flying you can reverse curve the TX or do just about anything your heart desires. I always get a kick out of people that don't own a radio such as the ones we are discussing and hand out advice that the features aren't needed. Once you understand, you use them all. Good stuff!
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 10:32 PM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
12,132 Posts
Kinda like hd radio. Never needed it. Now that I have experienced it, can't live without it. Lee
leethetreeguy is offline Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 08:43 PM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,297 Posts
Hey Lee, did you change out your Bol receiver to run with your DX6?
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 09:34 AM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
12,132 Posts
Not yet. I had too much else to do. It was taking too long to figuere out.
leethetreeguy is offline Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 05:53 PM
Registered User
United States, IL, Carol Stream
Joined Nov 2009
652 Posts
hey does the cx2 have a hi-lo extent option like the msr/mcx? my buddies dad just picked up a cx2 he wants me to help him trim it out, its been wet here lately so havent had a chance to take it outside, i saw his remote has trn button but i didnt see anything to change extent for newbies
Hot_Wheels is offline Find More Posts by Hot_Wheels
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 06:04 PM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
12,132 Posts
Hey there hot Wheels. No the cx2 does not have a hi-lo option. Sorry. The trn switch is for a buddy box to help train a newby. Sorry. Don't fly it outside. At least not if there is any wind. Fly it in a living room or kitchen. Or, better yet a gym. Happy Flying. Lee
leethetreeguy is offline Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 06:30 AM
Registered User
bulesz's Avatar
Hungary EU
Joined May 2007
2,757 Posts
Hello Guyz,

I plan to buya CX2 or CX3...Iam a little confused, because I dont know really what is the differences between a latest version of CX2 and the CX3... ?

I was thinking to get a Lama V4, but Imnot sure about its quality...(compared to the CX2/CX3)

Thanks,
B.
bulesz is online now Find More Posts by bulesz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 06:59 AM
It flies!!! ... so who cares ?
erdnuckel2's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
9,986 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulesz View Post
Hello Guyz,

I plan to buya CX2 or CX3...Iam a little confused, because I dont know really what is the differences between a latest version of CX2 and the CX3... ?

I was thinking to get a Lama V4, but Imnot sure about its quality...(compared to the CX2/CX3)

Thanks,
B.
here is my personal opinion to this:
the differences between CX2 and CX3:
cx2 has a two piece fuse, CX3 fuse is ONE piece (mighty big PITA to work with!!)
CX2 has the "regular" battery cage/landing skid, which you can easily switch against the "unbreakable" version from boomtownhobbies (and they really seem unbreakable) while the CX3 has a landing skid that is pretty damage prone.
CX2 has a 3in1 that is supposedly inferior to the newer 3in1 in the CX3 (however, particularly with regards to the gyro a lot of reports say otherwise)
I think these are the "obvious" differences between the two, not sure how many more subtle ones there are, but those are the main ones I can think of

As far as the quality of the V4 goes, I dont think the CX is so incredibly much better quality - I would actually call them rather equal.
However, there are some very distinct differences between the two, mainly the servo- and the motor placement!
While the motors in a CX are BOTH in front, the motors of a V4 are one in front and the other behind the rotor mast.
While the servos in a CX are both in the back (and mounted sideways), the the servos in a V4 are on the sides and mounted lenghtwise. This will be of significance once you intend to use longer servo horns. While this is rather easy with the CX2/3, you may run into problems with the V4 ... which is particularly obvious/disturbing, if you want to run your V4 in a scale fuse!

Just my 2Cents

E2
erdnuckel2 is offline Find More Posts by erdnuckel2
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: I "JUST" made a blog post ...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 08:17 AM
Registered User
bulesz's Avatar
Hungary EU
Joined May 2007
2,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erdnuckel2 View Post
here is my personal opinion to this:
the differences between CX2 and CX3:
cx2 has a two piece fuse, CX3 fuse is ONE piece (mighty big PITA to work with!!)
CX2 has the "regular" battery cage/landing skid, which you can easily switch against the "unbreakable" version from boomtownhobbies (and they really seem unbreakable) while the CX3 has a landing skid that is pretty damage prone.
CX2 has a 3in1 that is supposedly inferior to the newer 3in1 in the CX3 (however, particularly with regards to the gyro a lot of reports say otherwise)
I think these are the "obvious" differences between the two, not sure how many more subtle ones there are, but those are the main ones I can think of

As far as the quality of the V4 goes, I dont think the CX is so incredibly much better quality - I would actually call them rather equal.
However, there are some very distinct differences between the two, mainly the servo- and the motor placement!
While the motors in a CX are BOTH in front, the motors of a V4 are one in front and the other behind the rotor mast.
While the servos in a CX are both in the back (and mounted sideways), the the servos in a V4 are on the sides and mounted lenghtwise. This will be of significance once you intend to use longer servo horns. While this is rather easy with the CX2/3, you may run into problems with the V4 ... which is particularly obvious/disturbing, if you want to run your V4 in a scale fuse!

Just my 2Cents

E2
Thanks E2, it helped a lot! I will stay at CX...the price will depends that CX2 or CX3...
bulesz is online now Find More Posts by bulesz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion to buy or not to buy the blade cx2 airhead225 Coaxial Helicopters 36 Jul 10, 2009 12:01 AM
Discussion Blade CX2 Tx's - Can they be adapted to fly indoor/park flyers Sirion Electric Plane Talk 11 Apr 19, 2009 08:52 PM
Question How to program my dx7 to fly blade cx2? topforce Coaxial Helicopters 4 Sep 23, 2007 10:13 AM
Discussion How do I use my ICE to charge my batterys for blade CX2??? webejpn01 Electric Heli Talk 2 Jan 26, 2007 02:02 PM
Discussion How to learn to fly inverted with the Blade CP? Crazyrcer Micro Helis 4 Apr 05, 2006 01:59 PM