SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 31, 2011, 04:17 AM
United Kingdom, Scotland, Irvine
Joined Dec 2011
88 Posts
Discussion
Making a FV Northwestern (Deadliest Catch)

Hi everyone
Ive taken the plunge and decided to make my first model boat, ive been at it for a month or so. Thoroughly enjoyable and addictive, alot more goes into it than meets the eye.
Iam making a FV Northwestern from Deadliest Catch, i love the elegant old girl and havent seen too many try and make her, so hopefully ill do her justice.

Total Scratch build

I am a complete novice so some methods may seem bizarre, started out by carving her hull out of high density foam, which was reasonably fast and productive. having already made myself full sized 1:32 plans. I struggled for a while to adequately seal the foam for future fibregalss layup, but i got there in the end with plain old pollyfilla yes i was surprised how well it worked, it was easily sandable and took to the foam well.
So my journey onwards full of self discovery lol, alot of materials id never used before, the next was fibreglass, which was reasonably priced, my technique however for a first time was pretty good, the odd tear in the gel coat where i added the matting, however the resin and strength was all good.
Hull is ready for deck and rib fit outs, wheelhouse is formed, sadly the cold weather has halted recent progress, however nothing is lost and i have whipped up 100 odd pot frames.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/chrisgi...7628647156587/
Chris Gillespie is offline Find More Posts by Chris Gillespie
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2011, 06:17 AM
Joined Sep 2006
918 Posts
looks great so far keep it going
hazegry is offline Find More Posts by hazegry
Old Dec 31, 2011, 08:48 AM
Cortland OH
Joined Dec 2007
749 Posts
Is pollyfilla the same as or similar to spackling compound?

Ed
A-37 is offline Find More Posts by A-37
Old Dec 31, 2011, 08:52 AM
Joined Dec 2011
88 Posts
Quote: