HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 20, 2011, 02:51 AM
Joined Jul 2011
47 Posts
Discussion
M120D01 flybarless - first 3d helicopter, main rotor seizing

Hi guys,

Just tried out my first 3d chopper today. The instructions were less than helpful with setting up the TX but I got it somewhat worked out. I've been having some issues though.

When I spool up the copter, there are certain parts of the throttle where the main rotor just seizes up and I don't know why.
Additionally, when in normal flight mode, the trims don't seem to do anything really.
Finally, I noticed that in 3d mode, the collective pitch is such that it produces plenty of thrust in negative pitch, but beyond 50% throttle, there is no positive pitch thrust, only neutral. the collective doesn't even change past 50%, no increase in RPM or pitch.

I'm a novice when it comes to complex helis but if someone could shed some light on what they did to set theirs up (especially if you've had experience with this one) I'd be grateful
komodomoe is offline Find More Posts by komodomoe
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 20, 2011, 08:02 AM
Hong Kong
Joined Jan 2010
6,329 Posts
I would ask people in this thread whether they can help

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1363787

I have got a M120D01 and have found it very difficult to set up.

But at least I can answer one question: you don't need to use trims in a flybarless helicopter. The system makes the trims redundant.
zadaw is offline Find More Posts by zadaw
Old Sep 20, 2011, 10:31 AM
Joined Jul 2011
1,389 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by komodomoe View Post
Hi guys,

Just tried out my first 3d chopper today. The instructions were less than helpful with setting up the TX but I got it somewhat worked out. I've been having some issues though.

When I spool up the copter, there are certain parts of the throttle where the main rotor just seizes up and I don't know why.