SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 09, 2012, 04:26 AM
Me a long time ago
Flypoppa's Avatar
London N.E. UK
Joined Jan 2007
6,111 Posts
I have to agree with some about the 'pan'. I hardly use it now. It was a novelty at first.
Flypoppa is offline Find More Posts by Flypoppa
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
307 Posts
Does anyone know if the new gopro turns off its live output feed if the memory card fills up?
rsands2801 is offline Find More Posts by rsands2801
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 06:08 AM
Crashasaurus Dumbthumus
road_rascal's Avatar
USA, MN, Apple Valley
Joined Dec 2008
1,510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyandi View Post
anyway the bixler canopy is now 43 bucks at ReadyMadeRC :-)
It's actually $18.99 if you order it without the pan/tilt module.
road_rascal is online now Find More Posts by road_rascal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 10:08 AM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,871 Posts
I can't find it .. can you post a link?
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 10:42 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
You put your osd on a switch???
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 12:49 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddmax View Post
You put your osd on a switch???
OSD screen change
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 01:27 PM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
Really!!! What channel did you use? I have the Hornet also.
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 02:35 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddmax View Post
Really!!! What channel did you use? I have the Hornet also.
I would imagine you could use whatever channel you like It uses a two position switch.
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 02:41 PM
FPV ADDICT
Wirewolf903's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Jan 2011
562 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsands2801 View Post
Does anyone know if the new gopro turns off its live output feed if the memory card fills up?
The gopro Hero2 always gives live feed as long as battery holds out.
Wirewolf903 is offline Find More Posts by Wirewolf903
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 03:21 PM
Crashasaurus Dumbthumus
road_rascal's Avatar
USA, MN, Apple Valley
Joined Dec 2008
1,510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyandi View Post
I can't find it .. can you post a link?
On the link I posted you can select what options you want on the drop down menu- the very bottom is the 'no pan/tilt module -$25'.
road_rascal is online now Find More Posts by road_rascal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 06:10 PM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,871 Posts
Ahh got it :-) thanks man!
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 12:22 AM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Well I just discovered my Genius CP servo connectors fit my camera just perfectly, so I sacrificed a connector from a stripped servo and now my FPV cam is back up again! So this means tomorrow I can get my first FPV flight in since the crash and loss over a month ago!

Plus I have a 1 watt 2.4Ghz booster coming too .

I still am having vibration issues however which makes my FY31AP not function properly... So my next purchase will probably be a 2200kv motor and a new 6x4 prop, anyone have a good budget recommendation for motor/prop/adapter and preferably from a source known to have everything in good balance?

I also tested my pan mount finally, works good however physically the servo has roughly 180 degree total rotational capability from center (I.E. 90 degrees in either direction), however even with my radio set to 150% travel it only goes about 60 degrees.... anyone have an idea how I can get it to do full travel?
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 12:26 AM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flypoppa View Post
I have to agree with some about the 'pan'. I hardly use it now. It was a novelty at first.
I guess this depends on what you are doing with your setup... I can only see it as an asset honestly... one of my main goals is aerial videography, so having pan is quite handy, espailly when I get set my AP to do a circle around something and just keep the camera focused on what I want, which I plan to do for a few upcoming events in my area (Of course from safe distances :P)
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 01:30 AM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Bah, after doing bench tests with everything I have found out my display totally chops off half of the bottom line of info of my hornet osd... That really sucks because mah used, and home distance are going to be a pain to tell easily... I am sure it's my display to blame... Actually I should hook it up to my ezcap and see how it looks on there...

Assuming weather is OK tomorrow I am going to do an FPV flight which I will record. Will be first FPV flight since crash a month ago, as well as first flight with OSD, and first with camera pan . I have no intention of going much farther then 1500 ft ground distance, and only over open land :P. I think my vibes are still too high for AP to work properly, though I will do a test flight before my FPV flight to see how well it will behave. From what I have noticed thus far with my AP tests is that RTH will probably work fine as long as throttle is fairly low and will more then likely either gain or loose altitude slightly, or bank a little too much, but still would come back towards me enough to regain control, hopefully... but I don't plan to test that tomorrow anyway :P.

At either rate too I should have my 1 watt 2.4Ghz booster in a day or two which should really boost my range.
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 08:24 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
NorCal,
If you're looking for a good motor, try this one: http://www.gobrushless.com/shop/inde...=MD2505-C-2535

I have 2 different Microdan engines and they are awesome. I'll be buying another one later today for my Skywalker that just came in.
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Sky Surfer or HK Bixler??? fpsazerbaijan Electric Plane Talk 11 Mar 17, 2012 06:43 AM
Sold 1800kv Motor/prop for Sky Surfer / Bixler / Easy Star tdab Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Nov 01, 2011 05:46 PM
Sold Bixler Sky Surfer Hawk Sky ARF or complete kit porcia83 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 14, 2011 10:24 AM
Discussion Review of my Sky Surfer AKA Bixler , Flew Today for the first time. dllhg Electric Plane Talk 19 Aug 10, 2011 11:41 AM
Discussion Propeller recommendations Bixler/ sky surfer sean11 Power Systems 3 Jun 25, 2011 07:08 AM