New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Mar 18, 2012, 03:30 AM
foamybuilder is offline
Find More Posts by foamybuilder
Registered User
India, Karnataka, Bengaluru
Joined May 2011
207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEANALTAYR View Post
hello foamybuilder may be a track
i had a trouble on a new diy kit the ame of coax was broken
yocan check it with multimeter
Thanks Jeanaltayr,
This is the only part I have not explored. I have ordered an SMA to UFL cable and replace it with a new one. Hope this should solve the issue.
foamybuilder is offline Find More Posts by foamybuilder
Last edited by foamybuilder; Mar 18, 2012 at 03:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 18, 2012, 10:22 AM
The Tellurian is offline
Find More Posts by The Tellurian
Registered User
St Catharines Canada
Joined May 2002
943 Posts
There was also a bad batch of Tx antennas, maybe you have one of those.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1516397

Richard
The Tellurian is offline Find More Posts by The Tellurian
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 01:54 PM
GliderLover is offline
Find More Posts by GliderLover
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
357 Posts
just to say what frsky can do with a couple of decent antennas.
did today some FPV flights with my turnigy 9x with Open9x firmware (wonderful) and frsky tx + D8R-II.
Rx antennas cut down to 29mm and one of the two with a 26mm dipole.
TX with 7db frsky patch.
2200m far and RSSI still >95%
GliderLover is offline Find More Posts by GliderLover
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 02:37 PM
pmackenzie is online now
Find More Posts by pmackenzie
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
17,767 Posts
Can you show a picture of (or a link to details of) the 26mm dipole?

Thanks,

Pat MacKenzie
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 02:54 PM
7SP is offline
7SP
Find More Posts by 7SP
7SP
- Remove before flight -
7SP's Avatar
United States
Joined Dec 2006
340 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fly2High View Post
I was goofing around with my telemetry stuff and checking if the HUD works.


How do you plug in the yellow and black wire into the D8R? It doesn't look like it will fit?

Also, does the sensor hub need separate power or what? Do I need to plug in both the yellow and black wire ( with the white JST connector (or is it a mollex)) and the red and black with the servo connectors on both ends?

On a side note, I was testing a Jr 285 and it was making noise and it started to go more nuts the closer the antenna wires got to it from the D8R or D6R telemetry Rxs. I decided to try putting a small piece of aluminum foil around it as someone suggested. I figured since I was just goofing off what harm could it be.

It drastically reduced the noises coming from the servo!! Might be a start to a solution for Jr servos. Might need to also add a ferite bead. I twisted the servo wire ad it did nothing. Need to try adding a capacitor still. I will have to see if I can determine the amount of current draw reduction with the aluminum foil over the servo. Still need to try it on the other servos as well.

Frank

Aluminum Foil Tape used for duct work available at most H/W stores is relatively lite and works well for shielding. With the motor and board being low in most servos shielding the bottom 1/2 may be enough.

7SP
7SP is offline Find More Posts by 7SP
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:29 AM
flyandi is offline
Find More Posts by flyandi
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,880 Posts
Does anyone know how to upgrade the FrSky D8R-II Plus to get PPM on CH8? I got the HK FrSky USB Cable but I can not even connect to the device.

here is the cable: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16665

This is what I am trying to do:
http://code.google.com/p/uavp-mods/w...SkyProgramming

Any thoughts?
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:36 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
16,762 Posts
Yes, you are right if proceeding as in that page.
It is a development of my post in this thread.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...9#post17169119
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:50 AM
flyandi is offline
Find More Posts by flyandi
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,880 Posts
Ha - Nevermind, I forgot to bridge the RX signal on CH7/8!

Worked perfectly afterwards :-)
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 06:56 AM
Fly2High is offline
Find More Posts by Fly2High
Chuck 'Em and Chase 'Em
Fly2High's Avatar
United States, NY, Plainview
Joined Aug 2005
8,120 Posts
Guys,

Aloft Hobbies got in the D4FR II !!!!
http://www.alofthobbies.com/frsky-d4r-ii.html

just ordered 3 for myself. They are DLG bound.....

Frank
Fly2High is offline Find More Posts by Fly2High
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 12:10 AM
foamybuilder is offline
Find More Posts by foamybuilder
Registered User
India, Karnataka, Bengaluru
Joined May 2011
207 Posts
With a dipole antenna attached to receiver, the range is greatly increased.
I used to get telemetry beeps in normal flying when I used to fly very high. Probably I used to hear beeps around 180m. Now with last weeks flying I dint hear the beep even once. Will start fpv once I get the booster.
foamybuilder is offline Find More Posts by foamybuilder
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 01:08 AM
JayPi is offline
Find More Posts by JayPi
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
40 Posts
D8RSP broken

Hi,

my D8RSP stopped workink after a crash with my plane. After I opened the case I noticed that resistor R22 is missing. Does anyone know the correct value for R22 or was R22 never installed?

Thanks
JayPi is offline Find More Posts by JayPi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 01:57 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
16,762 Posts
Missing too in one of my D8Rs, so not this is the reason.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 08:23 AM
JayPi is offline
Find More Posts by JayPi
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Missing too in one of my D8Rs, so not this is the reason.
Thanks Renatoa. During the function check of the D8RSP I connected 5V to the CPPM output . Could this have killed my D8RSP? The manual says not to connect battery to CPPM becaus damage may (not will) occur...

Joerg
JayPi is offline Find More Posts by JayPi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 08:34 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
16,762 Posts
You connected 5V to middle pin or to signal pin ?
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 02:55 PM
ricknoon is offline
Find More Posts by ricknoon
Registered User
United States, IA, Orange City
Joined Feb 2012
29 Posts
VD5M Help

I hooked up my VD5M receiver using these servo connector cables: http://www.helipal.com/micro-servo-t...ter-5-pcs.html

The Rx had power and could bind and there was some sound coming from the 5g servos, but there was no movement or sound from the ESC or motor.

Are the micro connectors bad or could the VD5M receiver be too small for my plane?
ricknoon is offline Find More Posts by ricknoon
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM