New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 03, 2012, 01:09 AM
Find More Posts by kilotango
Singapore
Joined Jul 2012
47 Posts
Build Log
1st time scratchbuilding - Comments/tips appreciated!

Hi all I'm scratch building my own plane for fun. To be honest I am pretty inspired by all the amazing scratchbuilds here.

Here is a pic of my plane.. I pretty much got the airframe down except for the rudder.

I tried throwing her and she seems to be able to glide.

Size is 32inches wingspan. The tailfin foam is lighter than the main wing foam.

I'm thinking of installing an old motor from my 50cm Ezysky Cessna that I decommisioned recently. Runs on 2S.

I hope that it will be a nice slow flyer which can do some mild aerobatics.

I'm still deciding how to secure the motor on and also the main wings as its my first build.

I've decided to name her the flying guppy.

kilotango is offline Find More Posts by kilotango
Last edited by kilotango; Sep 03, 2012 at 11:24 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 03, 2012, 04:54 AM
Find More Posts by rayonnair
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
2,222 Posts
I would follow plans for your first scratchbuild. Easier to understand the techniques required that way, and you don't have to worry too much about whether or not it will fly.

If you love tinkering and trial-and-error, by all means! Make sure your CG is right (there are CG calculators to help estimate, but you will need to do glide tests to confirm). Make sure your power system is suitably matched to the plane (enough thrust to weight) and to itself (battery, ESC, prop, motor). Many more things to think about which won't matter for your first plane :P.

It looks like you are using 3mm depron for your horizontal stab. Is it the Artfriend one? It is likely to be too weak. There also appears to be a crack in your fuse.

I regularly fly some of my scratchbuilds at tamp field. Saturday mornings from 7 ish. If you want I could bring some along this weekend and you can take a look-see.